AN UNFORGETTABLE AND HEARTWARMING CHRONICLE OF OUR OWN KIND OF CHRISTMAS CELEBRATION

"When we remember a special Christmas, it is not the presents that made it special, but the laughter, the feeling of love, and the togetherness of friends and family that made that Christmas special."
— Catherine Pulsifer

Ever since the COVID-19 pandemic, our section hasn't been able to celebrate Christmas in school, even for once. For almost three years, we've been together virtually. Now, we're already graduating students, however, this is the first time we'll be able to welcome the spirit of Christmas together face-to-face.


Initially, we had plans to have a Christmas party. But, due to hectic schedules and heavy loads of requirements at school, sadly, we don't have much time. So what we just did was exchange gifts everyday. We constantly do it, right after our classes. Our budget is only 20 pesos per gift. The category would be Day 1: Something round; Day 2: Something that starts with the letter "T"; Day 3: Something long; Day 4: Something that makes a sound; and Day 5: Something wet.

Actually, this is super duper fun since it seems so exciting to think about what we could receive with an amount of 20 pesos. Not just that, but the moment of choosing a gift to wrap is killing me. I'd literally roam around the store, giggling. Here, I've captured some moments of our exchanging gifts.



We're a total of 30, and we've been on the same block section for almost four years now. Sometimes, we would only have 1 hour and 30 minutes of class per day. I swear the travel time to school is much greater than the number of hours of classes we would take. Somehow, this exchanging of gifts for five consecutive days made us feel happy and excited about going to school. Though I haven't documented everything from day to day, let me share with you here the photos I took last last week.

This falls under the "something round" category. It's hilarious, since some of us have received such strange and random gifts. We laugh so hard, watching each other open it. By the way, names are not given in advance, each gift has a number written on it, and whoever selects that particular number is the receiver.

Now, guess what I got? Two cute plates. Hahahahaha, this is a gift from one of my friends, and what makes it more funny is the fact that I'm the one who wrapped these plates! 😭 We were laughing so hard all the time, because we were actually together when we bought this one. I remember, as I was wrapping her gift, I even jokingly told her that there would be a plot twist and that would be me picking her gift, and I was right! Huhu, where's the lie?

Some of my classmates are also just funny to look at when they unwrap their gifts with garlic and onions in them. We all burst into stitches just by looking at their reactions. I swear they were both laughing irritatingly, which makes it funnier.

We also had the "something that starts with letter "T" and "something long". We had it together for one day. Again, the same scenario, 20 pesos value for each gift. Honestly, this is the simplest and funniest exchanging gift I've ever experienced. I've had a lot of fun. We all had a great time.

SOMETHING THAT STARTS WITH LETTER "T"
SOMETHING LONG
This is probably the funniest part of all. We were all cracking up while opening our gifts. I got number 14. I wonder what it could be. You've probably been eyeing what I've chosen. Luckily, I've picked something very essential that I could use everyday. You wanna know what I got? Hahahahahaha, a ladle! 😭 What a perfect combination! I first got a juice powder, and now I have this one. I guess I need a pitcher?
My Magic Ladle
What others got

MORE HAPPY FACES
All in all, this was a fun-filled experience. Our simplest and happiest way of welcoming Christmas. Though we haven't held a Christmas party, we had our money from our sinking fund, which is allotted for gifts for all our professors and for our individual jolly bundle.
photos of some of our professors taken by my classmate
We have given all our professors their gifts and had all the money allotted for us individually donated to one of our classmates who was a victim of the huge fire incident in Lapu-Lapu City, which burned almost 600 houses, including our classmate's, on December 12, 2023, the same day we had our last exchanging gift. Upon receiving the sudden news on the exact day, we immediately made a joint decision to donate the money to our classmate as our little way of extending compassion in these challenging times they've been through.

Overall, this might be one of the simplest forms of celebrating Christmas in advance, but for us, it's special and unforgettable.


Thanks for reading, dear Hivers! I hope you're all in good shape, and I wish you a lovely and wonderful time of the year. ☃️🎄

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency