When Rain Pours On A Holiday (Binge-Watching and Eating)

May 16, 2023

As a person who loves going out on holidays, it annoys me when the rain pours on the same day. It impedes me from pursuing my travel plan and I end up being unproductive on my bed the whole day. This happened last Sunday when the rain poured heavily. And since I didn't want my shoes to get wet, it left me no choice but to stay on the ground floor and look for a place to spend my time. Simply said, I'm lucky to live in a residential building with a mall on the first floor. When it's raining, I don't need to go outside to find a spot to eat lunch or dinner.

I visited Tamjai Samgor, a popular restaurant chain in Hong Kong serving the best noodles. Since it was cold and raining, I opted to buy something with hot soup, and despite my gluten intolerance, I ordered noodles as I wanted to drink the soup.

The best part of this restaurant is you can choose the toppings and soup base for your noodles. I chose the more vegetarian soup of course, paired with some meat, lol, just to make it balance.

I found the photo of a pork chop in the menu book appetizing, so I ordered one. I was a little bit disappointed when it was served as the meat was too small for my expectations. I thought it was spicy, but actually not what I liked. I also liked the sesame seeds and peanut toppings.

I set aside these chilis, only to find out that they are filled with sesame seeds. I tasted one and I liked it, it was crunchy. I ended up eating all the chilis with sesame seeds because they weren't spicy at all, even the pork.


After eating, I was surprised to see a big crowd of Indonesians occupying the entire shade when I walked under the flyover after dining. Although majority were Indonesians, some were Filipinos. It usually happens when it is raining. Because domestic workers are unable to stay outdoor, they would search for a shelter where they could gather with their frienda. That's part of living abroad.

I came across an Indonesian store and this food caught me up. It's a pandan cake filled with black glutinous rice with cheese. I was so curious about its taste so I bought one. Besides, I was planning to buy some food to eat while watching movies back home.

I returned home after purchasing some food, including my dinner, and shortly tasted the cake. Although not my type, the flavor wasn't bad either. The pandan cake was not my favorite, but the glutinous rice filling was. Something was missing from the ingredients, and it appeared like the cook added additional baking soda, which made the flavor not satisfying. However, it wasn't bad at all, and since it was a big pack, some was saved for the following day.

Binge-watching has been my hobby when I have nowhere to go. I would slack in my room and play random videos from a site where I can watch different movies including the new one for free. Food tripping, is, of course, part of it.

Some movies saved on my old laptop are worth rewatching as well. When I can't find a good movie to watch, I would rewatch some old movies. They are quite nostalgic and worth watching.


A rainy day might be a boring day. But there are always ways to make it less mundane. Even writing articles can help you kill boredom. What about doing it all at the same time? Watching, eating, writing. Well, that's usually my scene when at home on a rainy holiday.

Happy Tuesday everyone. The sun started to show yesterday. So I am looking forward to pursuing my plans on the weekend. I hope the weather won't impede my plan again because life is more beautiful when outside the comfort zone 😊.

(All photos are mine)

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

20230205_232024_0000.png

Join her on her quest for self-discovery and wanderlust. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, drop a comment, reblog, and follow for more wonderful adventures.

You can also reach me on my socials and let's be connected:

•Facebook
•YouTube
•Twitter
•noise.app
•read.cash

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency