A Perfect Christmas No More (Ber Months To An OFW)

September 10,2022

🎶My idea of a perfect Christmas
Is to spend it with you
In a party or dinner for two
Anywhere would do
Celebrating the yuletide season
Always lights up our lives
Simple pleasures are made special too
When they're shared with you
🎶

A gentle melody and calming voice of Mr. Chan travels into my lughole and flashes memories back when I was in my homeland. He is singing one of my favorite songs of him again. His soundtrack is kept on as I can't hear those songs in my place abroad.

IMG_20220908_111609.jpg

It is a cold night, and I am alone and lonely. Lonely as the full glowing moon in the silent clear sky. The cold breeze is brushing my skin while staying on the balcony. I am talking to the moon, reminiscing about the past, and hoping to feel the presence of Christmas.

Ber month arrives, but it seems normal. Nothing changed except the days and nights that kept replacing each other. Oftentimes, I would wish to go back to my homeland once Ber month arrives. Many things have changed as I stepped into this foreign land, but reminiscing the good old days in BER months is what kept them alive in my heart and mind.

🎶Looking through some old photographs
Faces and friends we'll always remember🎶

Happiness paints my face and an upward curve forms on my lips as I reminisce my childhood memories of the Christmas seasons. The red colored dress, long socks on the windows, coins, candies, and chocolates, popsicles, ninong, ninang, firecrackers, caroling and simbang gabi, genuine laughter on the streets, food, and parties.

20220909_092714_0001.png

As Ber month comes, the countdown begins.

As early as September, Christmas songs and carols fill in the air. At homes, malls, offices, radio, and televisions. Rudolph's bell would start to ring and Santa would start to laugh "hohoho" followed by his Merry Christmas greetings.

IMG_20220908_131109.jpg

My siblings and I would go to the woods to collect some dry twigs and native decorations. And we would start to build our simple Christmas tree and parols at home. Our class adviser in school would inform us to bring a parol to school as our project. Sparkling Christmas lights and decorations would start to be seen at any place, mall, office, and home.

Streets will be filled with sparkling lights and decorations of any kind. The competition will start with what village, town, or city is the prettiest. The holy family would start to appear to remind people of the true essence of Christmas, sacrificing, reuniting, and giving.

IMG_20220908_133250.jpg

🎶Watching busy shoppers rushing about
In the cool breeze of December
Sparkling lights all over town
Children's carols in the air
By the Christmas tree
A shower of stardust on your hair🎶

As the BER months quickly pass by, the anticipation would grow with more excitement, especially when the TV countdown begins. Kids singing carols would fill the nights. The last month would be all about celebration, which couldn't be taken out from Filipino traditions. People will be swarming around the city, shopping, and marketing, in preparation for the special main event.

IMG_20220908_121544.jpg

Regardless of the status, rich, or poor, everyone will reunite and would prepare something on their tables. At the end of the year, streets will be filled with noise, firecrackers, laughter, and joy, as there are parties everywhere to welcome the new year and give thanks for the blessings received.

20220909_092714_0001.png

BER months to an OFW. A Perfect Christmas no more.

Reminiscing those memories, BER months in our country is all about anticipation, preparation, gift-giving, reunion, celebrations, wishes, and happiness.

This somehow changed though as I entered adulthood, the anticipation and excitement. There is lesser excitement as we tend to focus on our careers rather than planning for celebrations, especially for breadwinners like me. Albeit, regardless of the busyness, the presence and celebrations of Christmas are always there. And we always find ways to be reunited on this special day.

When I stepped into this foreign land one late September, I was expecting to see more grand Christmas lights on the streets of this rich country, but to no avail. All I saw was a bustling city during the day and glimmering lights from different buildings at night. No Christmas music, I couldn't feel the presence of BER months.

Each day during BER months, it's all about grinding and missing my family and the traditions we have in our country. I missed seeing Christmas lights and decorations in the streets. I missed hearing Christmas carols and songs on the radio, in malls, in vehicles, and in homes. I missed the simbang gabi.

*"When will I feel the presence of Christmas here?"

That's always my question and I would wish to go back home as it is merrier and happier to celebrate Christmas in my country.

But here abroad, grinding in September, hustling in October, hoping to feel Christmas presence in November. I'll be glad if I'll hear and see Christmas presence at some malls, but never at home where I am staying.

Normal working days will continue until December, and my only way to feel the presence of Christmas is to visit HK's grand Christmas displays from the middle to the end of the month. I will be like a kid missing home so much and excited to take photos of those displays. At least, with those displays, I could feel Christmas.

IMG_20220908_131345.jpg

🎶I can't think of a better Christmas
Than my wish coming true🎶

There might be grand Christmas displays here, but the feeling is too different. Something is always lacking. Physically, it looks like Christmas, but deep inside my heart, I am alone and lonely. I am missing home. I am missing those happy celebrations in our country. A simple celebration, yet we are complete and happy.

🎶My idea of a perfect Christmas
Is spending it with you🎶

Because BER months for me, are all about celebrations, family reunions, and joy. And a perfect Christmas for me is to be with my family in my homeland.

It's been four Christmas and turning five that I spent it alone. Yet, as a Filipino, wherever I go, Filipino Christmas will always be in my heart.

Now Playing...Christmas In Our Hearts - Jose Mari Chan
IMG_20220909_222847.jpg
music player image created in Canva

Two more years to wait to be with my family. As for now, I'll just keep those memories fresh by reminiscing them while listening to my favorites Christmas songs.

2_20220909_222100_0001.png

End...

#kahulugan
#tagalogtrail
#BERmonths
#FilipinoChristmas

(All photos are mine)

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

20220809_221527_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency