This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

HIVE PH FIRST MEET-UP | The Faces Behind The Names & Voices

hivephmeetup_003.JPG

UNCERTAINTIES & CHALLENGES

It was a last-minute decision to attend the first Hive PH's Meet-up that was scheduled last April 29, 2023.

Initially, I gave my go signal during the initial planning phase but backed out during February because of a lot of factors - the healing of my physical body, my money invested in my chiropractic sessions, and the time constraint between my work and having to fly to Manila the very next day. I was fixated to let go of this event which may also have influenced @ybanezkim26's decision on going for it. We did talk about it and in the end, everything was meant to be as it was.

IMG20230427205908.jpg

However, tides seem to turn just midway through April as I made my way to Hive PH's discord voice session with @jude.villarta, @wittyzell, @cthings, and the rest where @jude.villarta's simple yet heartwarming convincing powers tugged on my delicate heart.

I was now contemplating how I would miss the chance to finally meet in person those I considered my Hive PH virtual friends, wondering if such an event would ever happen again in the future. I was also realizing that I have been stuck in my hermit/comfort zone for way too long and needed a fresh, new perspective in life. Perhaps making new friends and gaining new experiences was all that I needed at that very moment.

So I kind of gave in.

I quickly checked on some cheap flights but were already hard to find by that time and so I decided to consider the schedules where I would still manage to catch my flight in time after I get off to work a few hours before the event! It was hard because of the anticipation of having the flights delayed. I was already having second thoughts about pushing for it but eventually found one schedule that seemingly was possible and had my older brother book my flight for me. Payment is still due.

IMG20230428114807.jpg

Even though my booking was already confirmed 2 weeks before the event, I kept it a secret just so as not to jinx the whole thing. I didn't want to keep telling the organizing team that I would or wouldn't be coming because of so many uncertain factors including the flight. And boy, I was right not to do so because a couple of days before my scheduled flight, I got an email that my flight was interrupted. Such a thrill to have challenges but I decided to remain calm and head to the airline's office in the city.

We somehow fixed it by moving my flight a day earlier but now I have to carry my work with me to Manila. I'm grateful that my work is remote so I can do it anywhere but having to bring a heavy laptop, external keyboard, headset, etc along with other personal things like clothes, takes a toll on my spine, lower back, and knee which is still in the process of healing. I don't have any other choice now but to make do with the situation and the schedule.

IMG20230428144135.jpg

Once I felt that there was no turning back now and was confident that I would be able to make it to Manila, I gave a heads-up to @cthings that I was joining the event though I still asked her to keep it between the two of us. I wanted to surprise @jude.villarta and the others during the meetup. And with that, I was finally having that feeling of excitement to meet some familiar names on Hive PH like @tpkidkai and @romeskie, see what the anonymous people aka @adamada and @arcgspy look like, and make new connections with people I haven't interacted with.


venue.JPG

The day of the meet-up came.

@cthings asked me whether I would want to join @adamada and the rest that were heading out to a museum a few hours before the meetup at Filipino Lobo Tavern. I declined as I was having a terrible migraine and dysmenorrhea just right after arriving in Manila! I decided to rest and sleep so I would have the energy for what was about to come that night. And glad I did.

I was told that @romeskie and @tpkidkai would come in early at 5:00 pm to add some decorations. I timed my arrival at 5:30 pm but came to the place with no person in sight! The manager of the place decided to have a chit-chat with me instead and told me about the restaurant's history. He was very friendly and accommodating.

hivephmeetup_007.jpg

FIRST IMPRESSIONS

A few minutes later, @romeskie & @tpkidkai arrived! I was so happy @romeskie recognized me immediately and we exchanged hugs. My heart was all gooey. @tpkidkai, wish we had more time to talk but it felt like we have known each other for a very long time. The both hurriedly set up the decorations.

hivephmeetup_012.jpg

hivephmeetup_018.jpg

hivephmeetup_191.jpg

Slowly, people came in one by one. @lhes was next to arrive! I found her reserved yet sweet. @akumagai your uplifting, welcoming energy was something I admire so thank you for the warm greetings. @maverickinvictus, you were someone I wasn't expecting to meet but was happy to interact with in person knowing that we came from the previous blockchain and now here on Hive. @arcgspy, I'm so sorry for mistakenly assuming you were @wittyzell, please forgive me. 😆

hivephmeetup_021.jpg

hivephmeetup_024.jpg

hivephmeetup_022.jpg

hivephmeetup_033.jpg

@adamada, I still can't get over how you were just silently standing and staring at me after our eyes locked when you arrived. Not sure what happened that time but I was happy that you reciprocated my hug later on despite not being a touchy person. You were someone I wanted to surprise during the meetup but somehow failed because you did mention you had a gut feeling I was coming. P.S. I wasn't disappointed, you are handsome irl. Lost opportunity for others to meet a cool guy like you. 😄

hivephmeetup_026.jpg

hivephmeetup_029.jpg

hivephmeetup_035.jpg

@dennnmarc, I was so happy to finally meet you! You have the same energy virtually and in person and that is something I appreciate about you because it just tells me how authentic you are. @cli4rd, forgive me for mentally associating you with @khairro! It took about several conversations when it hit me who you were. 😂 P.s. wasn't expecting you and @dennnmarc to be so tall!

hivephmeetup_182.jpg

hivephmeetup_159.jpg

@cthings, I was captivated by how pretty you were in person. You are beautiful inside and out. I think everyone can agree with that. @wittyzell, thank you for the hug and the big smile you gave me, guessed I surprised you too. @jude.villarta you were that one person I wanted to surprise that night and seeing your reaction made my decision all worthwhile. I couldn't contain my joy and hugged you tightly.

hivephmeetup_058.jpg

hivephmeetup_053.jpg

hivephmeetup_052.jpg

@demotry, you are one big sweet teddy bear. @sensiblecast, I like you more in person. @cindee08, thank you for the stolen shots. I love how fun and outgoing you are! @bananzell, you have this mysterious persona. @ishishealing, you had a very light energy. And @nmore, serious but when you smile, it is a whole different you.

hivephmeetup_190.jpg

hivephmeetup_132.jpg

hivephmeetup_047.jpg


PROGRAM PROPER

We all settled down as we started our dinner. The food was delicious but I couldn't concentrate because I was starting to get overwhelmed but in a good way. I also had this unconscious habit of focusing on taking photos/videos throughout the event so I had less time to interact with everyone else. I am so sorry about that but know that I enjoy what I do and I enjoyed seeing all of you have fun.

hivephmeetup_042.jpg

hivephmeetup_054.jpg

hivephmeetup_055.jpg

hivephmeetup_045.jpg

I wasn't expecting there would be a program as I thought it was just a casual meet-up. It was damn fun and it went like this...

The program was hosted by the bubbly and lively @wittyzell. You mentioned how nervous you were but know that you delivered perfectly well as it should be.

hivephmeetup_060.jpg

hivephmeetup_063.jpg

hivephmeetup_071.jpg

@adamada delivered the opening remarks. All eyes were on him now. I was anticipating a lengthy speech but it was unexpectedly brief. 😁

hivephmeetup_067.jpg

We then had a unique introduce yourself using some game cards. I mean whose idea was it?! 😆 My question was "What makes me vulnerable?" to which I kind of pondered for a a minute and replied, "When someone tries to get to know me to the core." The questions were deep! Not just for me but the rest as well.

hivephmeetup_074.jpg

hivephmeetup_076.jpg

hivephmeetup_078.jpg

hivephmeetup_084.jpg

hivephmeetup_088.jpg

hivephmeetup_091.jpg

hivephmeetup_094.jpg

hivephmeetup_096.jpg

hivephmeetup_095.jpg

hivephmeetup_104.jpg

hivephmeetup_108.jpg

hivephmeetup_116.jpg

hivephmeetup_109.jpg

The next part of the program was Getting to know each other using a form with some characteristics that we need to match with another Hiver. Some prices were in store so people got competitive including me. What stuck with me is having the same year born with @adamada. Chance or Fate? 😏

hivephmeetup_122.jpg

hivephmeetup_127.jpg

Then the singing competition began... One would have to sing karaoke and if you hit a predetermined score, you win! Somehow, there were already several attempts made including @cindee08, @jude.villarta, and me but not one ever hit the scores until...

hivephmeetup_194.jpg

hivephmeetup_141.jpg

hivephmeetup_154.jpg

hivephmeetup_144.jpg

hivephmeetup_147.jpg

We all shouted in awe and surprise! Who would have thought @tpkidkai would hit a perfect score of 100 for the karaoke? You should hear him sing!

hivephmeetup_150.jpg

Some special certificates were given afterward! I wasn't expecting to be receiving the "ATAT AWARD". Hindi naman obvious na excited ako sa meet up noh and ako pa nauna sa venue kay sa iba 😂 @kraaaaa, @cindee08, and @wittyzell also got some titles, can't remember what they were though.

hivephmeetup_163.jpg

hivephmeetup_164.jpg

hivephmeetup_171.jpg

hivephmeetup_169.jpg

Huge shoutout to @romeskie, @juanvegetarian, @wittyzell, @tpkidkai, and @jonalyn2020 for the freebies and prizes! I appreciate the crochet trinkets, especially the earrings and hair clip. I already made myself a delicious cup of coffee too!

hivephmeetup_130.jpg

hivephmeetup_004.JPG

hivephmeetup_015.jpg

We thought we would be enjoying the night away at the same venue however our time was up at around 10:00 pm so we ended the event with a happy group shot!

hivephmeetup_186.jpg

hivephmeetup_178.jpg

There was an after-party at Uncle J Family KTV and... let's just say what happened there, stays there? #issue


As of writing, I am still exhausted, tired, and needing days of sleep but extremely happy for how the meetup went, grateful for the new friends and memories I gained, and in love with the beautiful soul connections I made. So thank you @hiveph for the opportunity to be a part of your community, and for being a doorway to friendship, camaraderie, and service.

To the staff, thank you for your hard work and for organizing the event. To the members, thank you for being there. To all who attended, it was a privilege to be in your presence. To more meet-ups in the future! 🥂

To @intoy.bugoy, I owe you one. Thanks for supporting me financially on this trip. I was so happy. Looking back, I would regret not coming. It was all worth it in the end.

hivephmeetup_181.jpg

Stay tuned for the video!


Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations.
Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

final hive footer2.jpg

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment.
Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.