HivePH Updates: Automation, Post Promotion and Growth

unknown.png

TL:DR we got some automation going on thanks to @jazzhero. We're planning and slowly applying some changes on the background. It's going to be noticeable long term.


The Automation:

If anyone has been keeping track of what this account has been doing, one would notice the rise in consistent curation and posting activities. Going to thank the staff for keeping the activities pumping when I can't be bothered to do it myself.

@juecoree takes the MVP spot for the curation compilations and semi-manual voting that's been going on. We recently implemented a voting bot that enables curators to use this account indirectly to vote on users.

Thanks to @jazzhero's coding, we saved several seconds of the process which can equate to minutes and hours on the long term. The upcoming additions include automating the curation compilations with each curator being compensated as a beneficiary for every post they had upvoted selected to the final post.

I've said this before, doing community work, building this account, and all the community stuff is a volunteer service that costs the organizer more resources without any kickbacks. The amount of time spent distributing rewards and giving people light pats on their posts isn't worth the monetary rewards one would receive when they could just focus on their own content. Hence, that's why some curators have pursued the route of giving up and building their blogs or whatever business that comes to mind. Because we're all busy and can't be bothered.

Call me old fashioned but I believe people should be compensated for the work they put out. The automation opens up to multiple opportunities for growth which may not be apparent right now. Rome wasn't built in a day and growth happens gradually. For now, we could only give peanuts worth of compensation to our curators and authors featured on the posts. It's all free so let's just enjoy what we can get ok?


Post Promotion:

There's no need to drop your links on the hiveph post promo channel as it automatically streams the latest posts that uses the #hiveph tag. So if your form on engagement is just dropping a link on the server like taking a dump, you can just go on your merry way and not bother as the bot picks up your yelling. The glory of automation is just beginning.

Please note that the bot can also be commanded to mute specific users that abuse the tag.

Also note that any curator can give the downvote command as they see fit. This account will be used for downvoting bad actors in the community but you have to get several check boxes right to have this account downvoting you. I do like to downvote for shits and giggles and it's fun.

Seeing how much greed can go straight up on people's ass treating the platform like money printer. It really is a good sport to ruin some returns on self voters and shit posters. I don't mind taking hits on my own blogs though, not attached to the rewards, it's the free speech that matters and the money comes second. But I know most come for the money and not the anticensorship lip service people spout and that's the reason why it doesn't bother me if I get zeroed out on my income here. It's all hobby time to me. Read between the lines.

I know some people took the hint well enough. You could always circumvent the process with alts. Not like I couldn't smell desperation when it presents. The HF25 is coming up and I'm sure it's going to screw the returns for those lease dependent self voters with the linear rewards coming up. Might need to reevaluate your milking strategy long term for these changes.


Growth

It's been a slow crawl to get this account reach the amount of HP it has right now. It's even slower thanks to implementing the beneficiary system where authors we featured get a cut on the post rewards. For cases where those beneficiaries fail to show, shit happens and some settings don't get pushed through. Believe me, we try to give wealth to the community as part of the vague vision I have yet to understand.

I'm surprised to see some engagement on the few latest posts. Weird to see people commenting but I'll take what I can get and be happy with it, it's something.

This account has a mission to never power down. So each time it accumulates HP from curation and community support, it's going to accumulate and compound the power long term. While the upvote strength isn't that high in cents, when Hive does moon, it's going to be paid out in equivalent $ when it upvotes people's posts. For now, it's all peanuts but just letting you see the long term impact of supporting this account's growth if you can be bothered.

Of course some realizations with managing the community include not being bothered about people that don't really give a fuck. I can't exactly expect the staff members to follow my ideals on who to support and not so if they decide to upvote people I dislike, it's their business. The bias here is just having a preference on who and what type of posts one wants to support.

On the long term, I prefer people building their stuff here over the other platform. Not going to mandate anything like pack up and leave the other site, just saying I don't really want to bother with you for getting associated with that site. I do check on people posting on this community tags and seeing which ones cross posts. No need to be shy, I probably already know about you before I said anything. I lurk a lot.

There's going to be a tentative change in management as @romeskie may be taking over the lead position next month. Finally I can be free to do something else. Lots of stuff have been planned for the community long term so expect some subtle changes over the course of months, maybe.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency