This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Reflection of Getting Old


Picture taken by my Cousin

As I reach my late 20s, there are plenty of realizations about my grandparents, either on the paternal or maternal side of the family.

In my mind, I saw my grandparents as lively and young, with a strong body and mind.

When my eyes are open, I realize that my view of my grandparents has changed.

I'm no longer a kid. I'm growing up. My grandparents are getting older, reaching their 70s and 80s, and my parents are in their 50s.

My mind keeps on reflecting lately, and I feel confused and lost about my dreams and goals in life because I have no motivation.

My thoughts are transitioning into reality, but I sometimes confide in the world of fantasy. If you read my introduction, I mentioned that I love to read and write as a hobby.

Reading and writing are two of my escapes from the reality of this world.

The world is a cruel place, and society expects you to conform to what the majority is.

I don't want to conform to this world (Romans 12:2 NKJV).

"And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God."

Living as a Christian is not easy, and our flesh always fails because there are many distractions in this world, and that is why we need to renew our mind and set our mind on things above. (Collosians 3:2 NKJV)

Because our hearts are hardened, we experience bad circumstances in our lives, which leads to God, and it depends on whether you are open with Him or not.

If you think that it's unfair and you don't want to know Him because of being content with your life, that is your choice if you choose Him or not since He gave us free will (read the book of Genesis about Adam and Eve. If you don't understand after reading it, I'll post my next blog in here to explain it for you). We only served two masters: the world or God (Matthew 6:24 NKJV).

I must remind you of John 3:36.

"He who believes in the Son has everlasting life; and he who does not believe the Son shall not see life, but the wrath of God abides on him.”

I'm not trying to scare you with this verse. I'm only concerned about you. That is why I'm sharing it with you.

If you were curious about why I serve God when I know something will happen to me in my life, my answer is simple. It's in Matthew 16:24–26 (NIV).

"Then Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me. For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it. For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and loses his own soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?"

Also, Jesus is worth it in my life because I chose Him. We are in this world because we are passing through, and this world is temporary, as it says in Matthew 24:35 (NKJV).

"Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will by no means pass away."

What is the world that I am talking about?


Picken taken by Me

Can you see the fluff and white clouds above the sky? The clear blue sky? How about the clear lake, green trees and grasses, and Mount Taal?

The things you can see with your naked eye—that is the world.

Do you know why God is worthy of my life?

I say this in confidence. Whatever His grand plans for us, He never gives us something that we cannot do, but He gives us what we can do while He is our pillar of support, and He wants us to rely on Him while we face our problems.

That's why my hope is in God, and that's where Jeremiah 29:11 comes in.

"For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope."

Troubles of Life

As the world grows older, so do we, as human beings.

My heart feels sorrow whenever I think of my grandparents, especially my grandfather on my paternal side. He has dementia, and his health is deteriorating. My grandfather, on my mother's side, died on June 11, 2024, because of a health complication after his operation in the hospital.

In December 2023, I was at the youth camp, and I remembered one of my questions after I asked God.

"If I had dementia like my grandfather, would I forget you?"

God answered me when the music started; I remembered it was called 'Who Am I' by Casting Crown.

"I am a flower quickly fading, here today and gone tomorrow. A wave tossed in the ocean, a vapor in the wind. Still, You hear me when I'm calling, Lord, You catch me when I'm falling. And You've told me who I am. I am Yours, I am Yours.

We are like a flower that fades away when it wilts, and only God knows the days when we take our last breath. The wave tossed us away in life, becoming weary and weak through time and circumstances, but He always catches us whenever we fall.

In the end, if we forget about Him, we are still His as children of God, and He will not forget us and still take care of us at the end of our lives.

Words of Concern

I hope and pray that you are safe in your place dahil sa malakas ang bagyo ngayon (because of the strong typhoon today).

Also, thank you for taking the time to read this blog. I hope you have a wonderful day, and God bless you!!