Beer Tasting In The Streets Of Rome

Hello, beer tasters! 🍻 😎 🍻

What a week!
I'm home, finally, and I'm collecting beer impressions from my travel to Rome. As usual, business, but every day, in the evening, I had the opportunity for a beer or two :) 😁

rome1.jpg

And in such a large and ancient city, there are plenty of opportunities to do just that. It was hot and steamy and a cold beer is always good in such an environment. More or less the people of Rome are lager lovers but almost everywhere you have a choice from lagers and pilsners to stouts and IPAs.

I'll start with IPA.

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Poretti 9 Luppoli American IPA

rome2.jpg

Brewed by Carlsberg Italy, Lainate, Italy.
Bottle, 0.33 l, alcohol 5.9 % ABV. As it says on the bottle, American IPA style, brewed with modern american hops, more bitter than English styles but less than Session IPAs.

Yes, I was still quite thirsty, I had just arrived from the airport to Termini Central Station (I have been to Rome many times and the name always reminds me of Isaac Asimov's Terminus, the central human planet in the galaxy, probably named after the station, which also has a place in Roman history as a kind of center or crossroads for the whole ancient world). I decided to have a beer somewhere nearby.

Quite a nice place outside, asked what beers they serve and the waiter said IPA and lager.
Cool, I'll try the IPA.

rome3.jpg

The beer is light amber brown, and the head is thinner and disappears quickly. It goes down the throat smoothly, I can taste hop bitterness, freshness and also some lemon flavors. The bitterness slowly disappears in the aftertaste.
It is very refreshing, maybe because I was really thirsty and I drank it very quickly.
As a start, very good.

It was not enough for me. I'm still thirsty. 😁

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Birra Moretti Filtrata a Freddo

rome4.jpg

Brewed by Haineken Italy, Milano, Italy. Bottle, 0.35 l, alcohol 4.3% ABV, IBU 14. Lager style.

What masters brewers say?

Fine and fragrant. Low Fermentation Beer. A clear beer with a unique personality thanks to its fine, fragrant, delicately aromatic and extremely refreshing taste! With snow-white, fine foam and good persistence, it stands out on the nose for the delicacy of its fruity aromas and mild floral aromas, with typical hints of bread crust and yeast.


rome5.jpg

The beer is bright orange in color, the head is solid. The sip flows smoothly down the throat, with a little bitterness but nothing pronounced, the malt sweetness is also discreet and in the aftertaste, it all disappears quickly.
Nothing special I'll say, fresh because it's cold but that's about it.
An ordinary lager, with no imagination.

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Instead of a beer meme, one photo of Republic Square and the Fountain of the Naiads, which is near where I taste the beers.

rome6.jpg
[//]:# (!pinmapple 41.902683 lat 12.496249 long d3scr)

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Poretti Angelo Brown Ale

The next day, my colleagues and I went for pizza and beer somewhere in the city center. We were offered Moretti and Poretti beers on tap and, of course, I chose the Poretti instead.

rome7.jpg

Master brewers say:

Brown Ale is a dark beer with a persistent foam, full body and charismatic personality. The vibrant licorice aroma can be perceived on the nose, gently caressed by resinous and herbaceous hints. The fragrant roastiness of the malt gives it unique notes, which come together harmoniously in a well-balanced score of flavors.

The beer is light and clear brown, tasty, there is a trace of hop bitterness, not too much, and a slight caramel taste, but it all disappears quickly in the aftertaste.

It's not a superb beer and the description is a bit exaggerated, but for a draft beer, it's still pretty good. The pizza was, of course, as befits Rome, excellent.

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

A new day and a new beer! :)
Actually, I'm lying, haha. I had wine at dinner the next day, so I'll skip that.
But, the next night we went to an Irish pub. Yeah, my colleagues had enough of pasta and pizza a hundred ways and suggested we go to the pub.
Great for me! :) 😁 🍻 🍺

rome8.jpg

Usually, when I'm in an Irish pub I ask if they have Kilkenny Red.
For me personally, this beer, especially when it's on draught, is one of the best beers. A balanced mix of flavors and aromas, everything in its place. Well, that's just my opinion. If anyone disagrees, let me explain in a comment that I am wrong.
It's also available in cans in our local shops for €2, here it was on draught for €7.

rome9.jpg

The burger was nothing to praise. I've eaten better. And I waited too long for it, but it wasn't crowded in the pub at all.
Well, it wasn't the only beer there.

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Brooklyn East IPA

Brewed by Brooklyn Brewery, New York, USA. Draft, 0.5 l, alcohol 6.9% ABV. IPA.

What do the Master Brewers say?

Originally a summer seasonal, has been getting raves since becoming a year-round offering in 1996. Garrett Oliver, a student of English brewing and beer history, uses English malts and hops to brew his EIPA in the classic, heavily-hopped style of the 19th-century beers created for British soldiers serving in India.

Yes, that's it.

rome10.jpg

Beer is light brown, the foam is creamy. Citrus and herbs are immediately smelled in the glass. The sip goes down the throat smoothly, the citrus and herbs are on the palate, there is a firm hop bitterness in the background, as befits an IPO, and the whole thing lingers in the aftertaste for quite a long time.

It's a great IPA. I wish I had something like this in a pub back home, but I don't believe it's available in Slovenia.

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

It's not over yet :)

The plane I took yesterday to Trieste and then home by car was delayed :(
Oh well, since I was waiting at the airport, I tasted one beer :) 😁

Lariano La Grìgna

rome11.jpg

Brewed by Birrificio Artigianale Lariano, Sirone, Italy.
Bottle, 0.33l, alcohol 4.6 ABV. Pilsner.

Master brewers say:

A legend says that Grigna was a cruel warrior who had one of her sentries kill a knight who had come to express his love for her. The warrior was transformed into a mountain and so was the sentry, who became the Grignetta.
Low-fermented pale ale. Rich malt aroma, floral and with an herbaceous bouquet coming from German hops.


rome12.jpg

Very light yellow in color, the foam disappears very quickly. It goes down the throat smoothly, cold and refreshing, the bitterness of the hops and the sweetness of the malt is balanced so that I feel both.
A pils classic, and very drinkable.
At the airport, for €7 it must be good :)

Quite a few beers, what do you say? 😁

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

I didn't manage to do a #newtunes post this week due to time constraints, too much other work, but I listened to a lot of stuff.
And these Japanese psychedelics will be on the next #newtunes post.

Kikagaku Moyo - Kumoyo Island (Full Album-2022)

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

More stories about beers? You can go back a little further in history! 😎 😁

2017🍻2018🍻2019🍻2020 🍻2021🍻2022

Stay healthy and enjoy your beer!

u9su13.png

Take a look into Beer Community
if you want to read more Beer adventures.


And if you want to share your beer experience,
send the story to the Hive BeerSaturday challenge for fun.

BEER token is ready for you, too :)

Thanks, @detlev who started all this!

btw: There's two BEER Games in town:

BEER PONG, and BEERFRIENDS

🍻 😎 🍻

5% of the earnings of this post will go to beneficiaries of the community (@beerlover).

🍻 😎 🍻

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif
@seckorama
My NFT Showroom Gallery
Watch my 3Speak Channel
Take a look at my DTube Channel
Check out my DSound Channel
Live Music playlist
VJing playlist

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency