Beer Tasting - Green Gold Prva Runda & Bevog Extinction is Forever: Scalloped Hammerhead Shark

Hello, beer tasters! 🍻 😎 🍻

How's going? I don't know, but this world as we know it is going into madness very fast seems to me. First almost three years of Covid restrictions, and now Putin everywhere. I was expecting aliens before this war crap.

Still, I'm lucky, it's quiet here for now, and today is #beersaturday, so I can at least unplug for a couple of hours from this madness.

first1.jpg

I wish all my Ukrainian friends to stay safe. And beer for everyone.

Again, two beers at my desk, which I'll be happy to taste, take photos of and write a bit about.
First, as usual, the one with the lower alcohol content.

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Prva Runda Wheat Ale

first2.jpg

Brewed by Green Gold Brewery, Ε empeter, Slovenia. Can, 0.5 l, alcohol 4.0% ABV.

It's Wheat Ale style, or American Wheat Ale, the difference with German wheat beers is in pronounced hop character and less yeast character.

What master brewers say:

Made for Hofer stores in Slovenia. Unfiltered, unpasteurized beer brewed with hand-selected Slovenian hops, quality malt, and clear water. Poetry that tastes in every sip.

Well, that's something! Quality and poetry for 0.69€ (the cheapest beer in the Hofer store). I would really like to try that.
btw: Prva runda means The 1st Round in English.

first3.jpg

The beer is hazy, yellow in color. The head is average and slowly disappears. I smell something, I don't know what exactly, I would rather say malt than hops.
The sip goes down the throat smoothly, I feel it is a wheat beer but also a distinct hop bitterness and some citrus in the background. The bitterness lingers in the aftertaste for a while, as does the sweetness of the wheat malt.

first4.jpg

What can I say? I don't like wheat beers in principle, mainly because of the strong taste of bread and malt, but this one doesn't have that in it that much. It's trying to be an ale, maybe it even has the ambition to be an IPA because of the bitterness, but that's still just an attempt. I am not impressed. It doesn't suit me.

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Let's go for a beer meme :) 😁

first5.jpg

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

Bevog Extinction is Forever: Scalloped Hammerhead Shark - Belgian Rye IPA

first6.jpg

Brewed by Bevog Brewery, Bad Radkersburg, Austria.
Can, 0.5 l, alcohol 7% ABV, bought in Biradiski beer and vinyl records store in Koper.
Belgian Rye IPA style, which means that's very fruity and spicy, brewed by Belgian yeast, complex in taste, and has more alcohol than average IPA.

What master brewers say:

Fruity and spicy at the same time, rich but bitter in the end. This beer shows how simplicity can be complex and beautiful. German pilsner malt, raw rye, Australian galaxy hops, and Belgian yeast. Citrus, sweet fruits, typical spicy and fruity Belgian aromas, berries, and dank hop presence will fill your nose and mouth. Sweet on beginning and bitter in the end.

Well, these are interesting details, and I would be interested to know if it's all true, or if I can confirm it.
Otherwise, the beer belongs to the Bewog edition 'Extinction is forever', where they present animal species that are on the point of extinction. Each can have a picture of that animal and a short description.

first7.jpg

The beer is golden in color and the head is solid. It doesn't have a particular smell, I don't smell anything. It goes down the throat smoothly, I can taste the specific floral and fruity aromas right away, it's sweet, I can feel the alcohol too.
But in the aftertaste this changes, a distinct hop bitterness lingers in the mouth after each sip and you just can't get rid of it. I should have eaten a piece of cheese ...

first8.jpg

Drinkable but very complex. Unusual for me, but everything balanced. First the flowers and fruit, and finally the bitterness of the hops that lingers.

Good, of course, but I'm not sure I could drink something like this all day. The price is also exceptional. One of the most expensive beers (5.90€). Maybe really only for exceptional events. I'll have to think about whether it'll end up in my fridge.

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

And what am I listening to as I write this?
In my last #newtunes post I discovered a great jazz musician who, just like, say, #beersaturday, creates an almost meditative atmosphere with his music, which helps you to disconnect from this horrible reality of ours for a few minutes...

Kahil El'Zabar Quartet - A Time for Healing

🍻 😎 🍻 😎 🍻

More stories about beers?

This year: BrewDog AldIPA and Bergkânig's Thorpedo, Steam Brew Session IPA and Reservoir Dogs Single Blonde, BrauSchneider Helles and Pelicon Veliki IPA, Amundsen Everyday Hero & Kona Pinneapple Pilsner, Reset Snowblind and St.Austell Proper Black, Perlenzauber Dry Hopped and Budvar Reserve, Hirter Kellermeister & Rheder Husaren Gold, Tuő Gose Sour Cherries Beer and Rieder MÀrzen, but you can go back a little further in history! 😎 😁

2017 🍻 2018 🍻 2019 🍻 2020 🍻 2021

Stay healthy and enjoy your beer!

u9su13.png

Take a look into Beer Community
if you want to read more Beer adventures.


And if you want to share your beer experience,
send the story to the Hive BeerSaturday challenge for fun.

BEER token is ready for you, too :)

Thanks, @detlev who started all this!

btw: There's two BEER Games in town:

BEER PONG, and BEERFRIENDS

🍻 😎 🍻

5% of the earnings of this post will go to beneficiaries of the community (@beerlover ).

🍻 😎 🍻

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif
@seckorama
My NFT Showroom Gallery
Watch my 3Speak Channel
Take a look at my DTube Channel
Check out my DSound Channel
Live Music playlist
VJing playlist

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency