Dying laughing... on Root Beer!!! Skande πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

untitled_design_2022_05_16t011652.938.jpg

I don't drink beer!!!

Whaaaaaat? You shriek in shock and horror!!! As the Afrikaans would say *skande*!!! Oh, and I'm not Afrikaans, but I am South African, so I know the meaning and emphasis - *disgrace*! haha.

So where the heck does that leave me with #beersaturday???

I tell you where... writing a post for #beersaturday, as promised to @zekepickleman last week, who invited me to write a post for #beersaturday! Albeit it is now Sunday... or is it Monday already my side of the world?... again skande 🀣

I was going to grab a few ales from the supermarket and feed them to the hubster during the week, whilst taking notes, but he doesn't drink much either... hmmmm... then a friend suggested that I simply write up my recent experience of American Root Beer πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I mean, it still has the word beer in it, right? So it surely must qualify!

Anyway, a couple of months ago I found myself in Central California in the good ol' U.S. of A. and amongst friends, an evening of beer tasting ensued. And when I say beer I mean non-alcoholic variants of the word - including root beer, sarsaparilla, apple beer, birch beer, and butterscotch beer (aka butterscotch cream soda), but I have never laughed so much in my life during a drinking session... a good, clean, hilarious, and sober drinking session. It was marvelous!

I have been going through some footage - which sadly will not be shared here - of the drinking that ensued. I will, however, provide links to some of the drinks mentioned and try to clip in a few close-ups of the (un)bottled beers.

Now, it was a tasting session so we all had shots of the various different bottles of beer that had been purchased. And then afterward, one of the friends decided to down the remaining contents of each of 6 different bottles that had been purchased. From the footage and pics I could make out the names of four of them:

Sioux City Sarsaparilla - Aptly named "The Granddaddy of all Root Beers" - This is made from birch oil in the USA. I have no idea why anyone thought that was a good idea 🀣 I mean why anyone would make beer out of birch oil or birch bark... not the tastiest IMHO. But maybe I'm just not American enough 😣.

There was another birch beer... cannot work out the brand from the pics... also...not a fan! So, birch beer I think I can safely say... I will likely avoid from now on, unless it involves as much laughter as this evening did... then... totally worth it! 🀣🀣🀣

SodaBeers's Apple Beer - this was alright... I mean compared to the root beers and birch beers this was just slightly sweet bubbles, almost tasteless - like soda water... I guess if I was to be complimentary at all, I could call it refreshing at best πŸ˜„Definitely looked easier to chug down than a rootbeer, from the look on one of my friend's faces, haha... although the first thing he said after he had downed it was... grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr ... so make your own mind up about this one!

applebeer.jpg

Rat Bastard Root Beer - oh my! Unlike the name, super sweet!!! ROTFLLLL My friend tried to down this one too... and the look in his eyes cracked me up ... so much fizziness to contend with!!!

ratbastard.jpg

Flying Cauldron Butterscotch Beer - This one is actually brewed in England - for wizards they would have you believe!!! Pure sugar! Stupidly sweet. According to the inscription on the bottle label, it is actually a cream soda. Now, I don't know about you, but to me, cream soda is a yummy green liquid soda that you buy in a green can in South Africa and is unlike any cream soda sold anywhere else in the world. The closest thing to my South African cream soda is the Scottish Irn Bru... I really cannot describe its flavour - but it does not taste like butterscotch lol. Anyway back to the Butterscotch beer. My friend said he found it difficult to down as the bottle opening was so small... it was like sipping through a baby bottle... He must have been severely influenced by all the sugar, as by that time he was drinking it with 2 hands wrapped around the body of the bottle... just like a baby🀣

It took 8 minutes 52 seconds to down the remnants of all 6 bottles... pure sweet fizz.

I don't know how he managed it, but he took one for the team πŸ˜‚πŸ€£There was so much laughter going on - we thought he'd choke on the fizz at times. But it was hilarious, and a fabulous cameo in a great evening shared with friends.

And at the end of the day, this is what this post was about... friendship and laughter... thoughtful don't you think? πŸ’—

This week of #BeerSaturday, I would like to invite my old friend @jaxsonmurph to tell us a tall tale over a few beers. Write a post about beer with min. 3 pics in any language.


Rootbeer in a mug - by Pixelshot on Canva Pro

Remaining photos are grainy crops from my own photos of the evening πŸ˜‚πŸ€·β€β™€οΈπŸ˜‚ Sadly, I did not have this post in mind when the photos were being taken.

Dreemport banner used with permission of @dreemsteem and @dreemport and designed by @jimramones

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
40 Comments
Ecency