Beer Saturday : Toppling Goliath Intergalactic Warrior

20201016_202316.jpg

For tonight's entry, I found an October 10th, 2020 production date for this Toppling IPA. Lucky? Oh yes...granted, I had to drive to Minnesota to buy it, but for an IPA packaged roughly a week ago, it's worth the trip into enemy country.

20201016_202349.jpg

First off, this reminds me of a lot of an old Toppling beer name Zeelander. Back in the day, when Toppling was just a start-up, I could find Zeelander at local coffee shops and bars on tap. The smell was insane; there was an almost wild onion scent that smacked you in the face, and then you'd drink it and it would be gone in a few minutes. It was one seriously delicious beverage.

20201016_202329.jpg

Zeelander is long gone, but this one is a close second. Warrior hits you hard in the nose when you smell it with its overdosed Warrior and Galatic hops. The smell is unbelievable, and the beer is delicious with every sip. The hops ring through with a very clean and very balanced sensibility. Very good, if I may say...

20201016_202042.jpg

The design of the four-pack wrap is even slick. Four sixteen-ounce cans of pure Toppling IPA goodness. This four-pack isn't going to last the night, I fear.

20201016_202054.jpg

Unlike some of their other beers of late that I've been enjoying, this one isn't as strong in terms of alcohol. Coming in at 6.2% ABV and 60 IBU, I dare say this is in my "session beer" range. There are some 22,000 check-ins on Untappd, scoring this beer 4.07/5.00. I think that is a bit light, and I'm going to give it a 4.25. I guess that folks aren't digging it as much as some of their other offerings given its ABV level, but I could be wrong.

Thanks to Toppling for another winner from Iowa; if this pandemic ever ceases, I still think we should try to get a Hive - #beersaturday get together in Decorah, Iowa if possible. And if I'm the only one who shows, I'll drink plenty for all of us if need be! Us sconnies are good for something...thanks again for reading, and hoping everyone out there is having a safe and wonderful weekend.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency