Beer Saturday : Finding the Moon Man on Tap

PXL_20210508_203917404.jpg

I snuck out yesterday during Hattie's nap to visit the small, used bookstore in our downtown. I wanted to find something on astronomy...maybe even something on UFOs. Yet the bookstore didn't have much on either, so I decided to pick up a book on foraging mushrooms. The beer was good, but the book buy wasn't a bad read, either!

PXL_20210508_202124962.jpg

I was hoping to try a new IPA, double or otherwise, but the tap list was heavy on wheat beers, sours, and some lagers...so I went for my old standby: New Glarus Moon Man. I dread it when the weather turns warm and all those heavy winter beers are still on tap.

PXL_20210508_202135157.jpg


PXL_20210508_202137979.jpg

Again, if you have not tried this one before (I'm guessing you might not have, as it is only available in Wisconsin), it's a great session beer. Coming in at 5% ABV, it's not heavy at all. It has a fresh floral hop smell and taste, and as you can see, isn't hazy. It's such a good beer to have when you want something more than those big Toppling or Surly beers. Especially when you find it fresh, and this keg was definitely fresh.

I found this one at the Bodega. I visited my favorite bar in our town; a classic historic tavern with beautiful views to people watch and a ton of history. Also, the occasional ghost story, too.

PXL_20210508_202153588.jpg


PXL_20210508_203923675.jpg

Note the "social distancing" placard on the bar. You know how it is, the "new new," as it were. Wisconsin bars have been open, more or less, since last June; I have to say, having a historic old tavern like this open for the majority of the time has been comforting, to say the least. You may recall from a previous post that I determined that my grandfather used to be a cook here in 1941, prior to being drafted into the War. I love my history!

Oh, and that book? Well, here is the back of it.

PXL_20210508_202259519 (1).jpg

I guess the next adventure is to figure out how to pick some mushrooms and not die from consuming poisonous mushrooms. Maybe if I have enough Moon Man in me, that will keep me safe? Probably not, but it is a good beer to enjoy on Saturdays like this one. I might just stick to the mushrooms being sold at the local farmer's market...that might be the best bet for me.

That's it for my #beersaturday adventure this weekend. Hoping everyone out there is having a wonderful, safe, and delightful weekend. Happy Mother's Day, too! Until next weekend, have a great weekend, my #beersaturday friends!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency