Beer Saturday - Whats A Six Pack in Danish?

Well Here we go again, its Saturday and that means... Beer.

Hurray for,

BEER SATURDAY!


I am probably starting to look forward to this a bit too much.

So Todays selection of beverages came about because at the beginning of the week a Friend came back from a Trip to Copenhagen and brought me an assortment of beer.

IMG_20211009_134545.jpg

( All of them from Hornbeer in Denmark)

To be honest when I saw the multicoloured labels Instant Dread kicked in. It looks a bit, well Fruity. I was certain they'd be girly beers and Id be giving them to the missus.

But lo and behold on the back... In english. The beer variety.

Score

No fruit in there, no Raspberry ripple or strawberry passion bullshit. Just a good selection of Ales and Beers.

IMG_20211009_134623.jpg


So lets get ready, No panics this time they been chillin in the fridge for 4 days so nice and cold.

Ready? Steady? GO!

Wait a minute somethings missing...

I know! Lets play a game.

IMG_20211009_141031.jpg

Rules are simple Roll the dice and try The corresponding beer next. If the number doesn't match Time for a Shot.

IMG_20211009_141446.jpg

The Penalty!


IMG_20211009_141045.jpg

Maybe this dice is a bad Idea Let me fix it quickly...

IMG_20211009_141108.jpg

There that's better! 1-6 and I don't even have to count dots. Awesome.

Lets roll the dice and see where to Start.

4 Lets see....
Godt Øl Økologisk Pilsner

IMG_20211009_141853.jpg

A bit cloudy with a nice smell. I think this is going to be a good start, A classic Organic Pilsner.

On first sip its a bit sharper than usual with more bitterness than expected but still very refreshing. Its got a really unique herby profile at the end. A good session Pilsner at 4.6%.


Well that one went down well lets roll the dice and see where we end up.

Boom a its A 1, I'm on Fire. Lets grab the bottle and take a look.

Weissbier Økologisk

A Classic German Styled Organic Wheat Beer.

IMG_20211009_143848.jpg

Again its a bit darker in tone than usual but retains the same slight cloudiness. Very little froth in the pour and a really nice wheat smell.

Lets have a taste and see where we stand.

Ok this ones pretty damn tasty. The wheat flavour really comes out and its obviously had a good long time in fermentation. It would be the perfect companion to a char grilled steak or fish.

At 4.8% its a good bottle for a barbecue or hanging out on the beach.


What empty again... Oh well lets try my luck. 16... What the fuck... oh I grabbed the wrong dice. My fault, Next!


Its a 4... Guess I cant be lucky all the time, Do a shot and roll again.

5 That's a new one, lets go have a look.

Økologisk Pale Ale

Ecological Pale Ale

IMG_20211009_145705.jpg

Cloudy and a full head of mousse this is Hammering out the Citrus smells here. Looking promising.

Lets take a sip. Wow that's got some flavor. All The over tones and Citrus of a classic Pale ale with that same strange herby tone that I just cant Identify. Its Pretty sharp with a lot of the fermented malt coming through but simply put very tasty.

Very similar to a Biere de Garde.

4.7% here so pretty normal as they go content wise.

A good companion to a curry or Belgian Fries / chips. Simples.


Now lets roll them bones.
5 oh For fucks sake. Shot
Next its a ... 1 Son of a...

3rd time lucky! AND IT IS! 3 Lets grab the bottle and have a try!


Økologisk Summer
Ecological Belgian Whitbier

IMG_20211009_153601.jpg

Now this ones got a hint of fruit to the smell, typical ecological Beer cloudiness. Its pretty damn lively with a fat head on it. Had to pour this one in 2.

As for Flavor the name says it all. A perfect beach beer for lounging in the sun. Soft, light and flavorful with A strong honey after taste and heavy notes of Hops and Elderflower with a bit of spice for good measure.

Perfect for layin in the sun and watching the bikini clad world go by.

At 4.6% you can pass a great day in the sand without moving from the cooler.


Ok

Now... This is getting dangerous I'm half cut and the odds are against me lets have a go.

3... Really? shot
5....Come on! shot
3 Why are you doing this to me...


2 Yeeha we got a wiener !

Time to go around the table again and see what's in store.

The Red Cow Økologisk Brown Ale

IMG_20211009_162440.jpg

And yes at this Stage I lost my bottle opener and am now using my lighter.

Promising
Nutty smell and a dark color. This bad boy smells good. Little head on the pour and strong autumnal smell.

It has strong (and I mean STRONG) toasted caramel and chocolate flavours, which remind me of a Good Classical Tap drawn stout in many of the English Pubs.( The Locals, not the Weatherspoon's.) Its got depths of flavor for days.

Would go perfectly with Game such as Venison, Pheasant or Wild boar. Strong Bitter to counterbalance strong food.

It would also be Ideal for making a Steak Pie as well If you can avoid drinking it first.

5.8% so good for filling up the tank for a long night.

Ok... I need a glass of water before I roll this dice again. I seem to be forgetting why I am here.


Ready?
I'm not.

Lets Roll-

3: Fuck...
1: Repeat the above
4: Seriously?

10 minutes later....

6!

Why doesn't it ever work out so well at the craps table?

Ok this games a bit harsh. While I can still keep one eye open I'm gonna have a go. Lets try to walk around and get it.

Godt ØI Økologisk Classic

IMG_20211009_165923.jpg

Organic Vienna Lager. What the hell...

Ok I'm hitting the chem trails I guess.

The smell is seriously hoppy. That's it Just straight on punch in the nose hops.

On first taste I gotta say...

I'm remarkably surprised by the smoothness and depth of flavor here. Burnt Caramel and a hint of Negra Modelo. Lots of overtones taken from classic bitters and a good dose of honey in the follow through. In a word, Nice.

This is an organic Craft Lager worth drinking. Personally If I'm buying, I'm not a lager fan period.

Don't get me wrong Ill drink it, But...

This is a unique exception. Id buy it.

Sooooo here we are. Im more than a little tipsy and Id like to wrap this up a bit tidier than my kitchen.

Hornbeer = Good but strongly fermented
Strong flavor profiles and stronger aromas.

Probably very close to beers and Ales a hundred years ago.

That's me for this Beer Saturday. I think I'm gonna have a shower and shovel up the carnage before the boss gets up in the morning.

Thanks for joining me.


Big thanks to My boy for drawing my numbers for me. He was a big help today!

An equal thanks to my friend for the Free beer.


All photos taken on my chinesium Xiaomi Mi 11 lite


That's lucky 13 now, I'm gonna just copy and paste the normal follow up. I be just a wee bit hammered.

I decided I'm going to have a bit of fun on this 30 posts in 30 days. I'm going to do a post 31, and a giveaway on the 31st post, cause some months have 31 days or so I've been told.

In spite of my rough and ready appearance I'm an Antique dealer don't ya know.

So it'll probably be old shit in your mailbox.

Stay tuned and engage down below . For every post from day 1 if you comment on it you will get one entry and a chance to win.

Then at the end of the 30 posts, on day 31 There will be a random raffle you will get a chance to win....

Really cool old shit.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency