Tasting three beers. The trinity of the probably smallest craft brewery here in Bulgaria.

img_7006.heic

I know this brewery from the times when it was not licensed yet and was not built at all. I even got some questions about the whole licensing activities and some tricks about the building activities by people who were working on this brewery. I haven’t visited this place, although it’s just 20 kilometers away from my home. As far as I know, the brewery is in a garage in a village near my hometown and it has just the least hardware needed in order to become a real craft brewery. I have tried the pale ale of this brewery but I really think the beer was old and a little bit unpleasant to brink, so I hope this time it was goons be different.

img_7007.heic

I started with the “dark beer” and hoped this to be a delicious stout. It’s interesting that the three beer doesn’t have exact beer styles, rather than all that was stated on the bottles was “dark beer”, “amber beer” and “pale beer”. I mean… wtf? It’s a craft beer but doesn’t have any specific style. I don’t know if the man brewing this beer isn’t aware about different styles at all, or just he does this for the “auditory” that this beer is supposed to cover. I think the beer is most famous in the villages around the brewery and it’s supposed to be distinguishable only at a local level where people don’t know much about beer styles anyway.

img_7008.heic

To my surprise, beer was not dark at all. I can say it is dark-ish, but nothing close to the dark beer styles. I would say it is a darker amber beer. Not a single taste of dark baked Carafa malts in the glass. I can’t say that I expected much, but we’ll, at least there was supposed to be a deeper almost black color.

img_7010.heic

One other thing… on the label there is statement that this is “live beer” whatever this means. I definitely know that this term comes from the first “different” beers that came to existence in Bulgaria about 10-15 years ago, but this only means that the beer is unfiltered and is supposed to have some residual yeast in the bottle.

img_7009.heic

The name “Triglav” comes from a three peaked mountains near the village and “Triglav” literally means three headed.
The next beer to try was the “amber beer”. It’s color was also nothing that I was expecting.

img_7034.heic

To be honest if this was my beer, I would definitely name it a Pale ale. But this one is amber. Yet, there is a bit of a caramel flavor from a special malts that are used for brewing this beer. I cannot find much hops flavor in both beers at this point. Assuming that these are a lower and cheaper class beers, it’s pretty normal and expected in my opinion. Furthermore the targeted consumer group isn’t very criticizing.

img_7036.heic

I can’t say these beers are unpleasant, but they are definitely far from the leading craft breweries in Bulgaria. For a home brewery they would be pretty good, but I think for a craft brewery, although being very small, there must be better attention to detail.

img_7043.heic

Pale ale was really pale and having in mind that the former two beers were not quite the expected color, I was prepared for that. This was the color of my wheat only beers back in the days when I was brewing my homemade beer.

img_7044.heic

And this one was really fresher than the beer I had before a couple of months when I firstly tried the products of this brewery. All the three were fresh, but lacked a bit of hoppiness and character.

img_7045.heic

Given the fact that these beers were a present to me, they were enjoyable, but these are definitely not the beers that I would buy if I want to enjoy l some craft beer. At least, they were something different to drink alongside the traditional lager beers sold all around the shops.

So, that’s for now, see you soon and have a nice week!
Have fun 😉

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency