My craft beer bottle collection part 6 - The Greens and Clears

Moving on to another series of my beer bottle collection. This time I will be showcasing the Greens and the Clears.


I'm have shared three of these bottles in my previous beer bottle collection, so this time will focus on the other three only.
DSC_2873.JPG

Before I start, I want to reminisce the Sierra Nevada. We first had this at the Marina Sands in Singapore in February 2020. That was the last time I travelled, from Taiwan via Singapore back to UK. Those were the good old days, sipping a beer, watching the beautiful sunset on the top of the most iconic building in Singapore.
DSC_7507_edited.jpg


Crabbies is a ginger beer that dates back to 1801 from Scotland. I have the feeling I've seen the name around for ages, so I don't know if it's actually a craft beer. Not to worry, I'm not too fussed, they all taste pretty much the same to me!!
DSC_2876.JPG

DSC_2877.JPG


Aspall is a cider made from organic apples, and they make a point of stressing the organic part on their bottle. The elongated bottle looks more like a wine than a beer bottle which made it stood out in my collection. According to the bottle, it has a wildflowers aroma. I don't know how wildflower aroma differs from normal flower aroma, but it smelled really nice when I used it to cook my mussels. The Aspall has 6.8% ABV and is one of the highest one in my whole collection.
DSC_2874.JPG

DSC_2875.JPG

Kernow Gold has an interesting story. It's from Cornwall, the western part of UK. The story goes it's brewed in an old nuclear bunker, and according to the bottle, it's "a bottle conditioned real ale that has not been sterilised or carbonated but completed its fermentation in the bottle and maturing in there". Does that mean they make the beer, then bottle it immediately? I thought beer will evaporate, so I'm guessing they don't fully seal it, as they have to top it up somehow...

DSC_0278.JPG


CLEAR BOTTLES

I only have a handful of clear glass bottles in my collection, I don't know why that is. Maybe, you need dark bottles to preserve the taste? Out of these five, three of them were for ciders, so maybe the beer bottle colours do have something to do with the type of beer inside?
DSC_2894.JPG

DSC_2895.JPG

I think the Crumpton Oaks label is actually quite cheap and cheesy, given the choice I probably wouldn't buy this. The only reason I got it was because I was looking for a cider to cook my mussels and this was the biggest bottle on offer. And you know what? Despite it's cheap looking label, the mussels turned out really fragrant. Never judge a book by its cover, and never judge a beer by its bottle, I say!!

If you want a bad beer bottle label design, I'd say Premium Vintage fits the bill. The light orange and silver font on white label is so difficult to read and it doesn't stand out at all. Just look at it in between the other two bottles, you would never notice it, let alone when it sits on the supermarket shelf amongst so many other beer.

My favourite label out of these three is the Cornish Gold on the right. I think it's very regal, in black and gold. That's what I call a good design!
DSC_2896.JPG

livinguktaiwan divider.png

April Hive PUD Guessing Contest

This month's PUD Guessing Contest is to guess how many bottles I have in my beer collection. How many of you braved it and tried to count? I know @soyunasantacruz did, kudos to you for trying, I hope your eyes didn't hurt too much afterwards!

For those who didn't try counting, and picked up on my tips, you will be pleased to know that the correct answer is 51 beer bottles. Congratulations to @wandersells, @failingforwards, @gems.and.cookies, @leaky20, @phortun, @soyunasantacruz and @profgabs05!! You guys and gals will share the 20 Hive prize pool, that's 3 Hive each. It's not a lot, but it's all part of the fun!! I also said if you did a PUD post I will double your win, so @failingforwards you have won 6 Hive.

As always, I appreciate everyone joining in my PUD Guessing Contest, I hope to see you again in the May one.

HiverAnswerPUD post
@wandersells51No
@fronttowardenemy49No
@failingforwards51Yes
@dswigle52No
@ace10849No
@gems.and.cookies51No
@leaky2051No
@phortun51No
@brittandjosie55Yes
@cetb200850No
@mau189gg54Yes
@soyunasantacruz51No
@trangbaby53No
@profgabs0551No
@sorprendente55No

livinguktaiwan divider.png
If you're interested to see my previous beer bottle collections, you can check out these posts. Cheers!

Part 1 - @livinguktaiwan/craft-beer-collection-on-a-beer-saturday

Part 2 - @livinguktaiwan/my-craft-beer-bottle-collection-part-2

Part 3 - @livinguktaiwan/my-craft-beer-bottle-collection-part-3

Part 4 - @livinguktaiwan/my-craft-beer-bottle-collection-part-4

Part 5 - @livinguktaiwan/my-craft-beer-bottle-collection-part-5-the-blues

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency