Big Sky Brewing Hazy I.P.A.: An Amateurish Beer Review

Take a deep breath, you are one sip away from the unrelentingly pleasant tropical aroma and refreshing taste of pineapple and citrus fruit in our Hazy IPA! As agile as a fur bearer on a matchstick boat, It's [sic] smooth and light body will help you navigate the Hazy, giddy up is going to be a flavorful ride.

HazyBox22.png
Image source: Big Sky Brewing

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Enough of what they say for themselves. Time for my take! I like several of the offerings from this Montana brewery, but this one isn't such a great option in my opinion. It's not bad by any means, but neither is it particularly good. I don't detect the claimed 60 IBU, the hops profile is just a bit more than a basic craft lager, and it just smells OK. Tropical? no. Pineapple and citrus? Maybe a bit more than a LaCroix sparkling water.

OK, that's too unkind. But while it would be a decent lager, it just isn't much of an IPA. It's reasonably refreshing, I suppose. With options like Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA and Voodoo Ranger Juice Force IPA as comparisons, this just misses the mark.

I will also note that my can is marked at 5.6% ABV, so I don't know whether this is a test run, a limited release, a printing error, or what. Maybe there's a good reason I found it in the discount section at the local grocery store.

While it has no bearing on the beer itself, I will also note that the can art is in fact a plastic shrink-wrapped sleeve. It's even serrated for easy removal.

canstrip1.jpg

Look at that lovely can.


canstrip2.jpg

Just a peek, now.


canstrip3.jpg

Really teasing without the full reveal just yet


canstrip4.jpg

Hey, this is isn't tagged NSFW! No full nudity. Pervert.


Sorry, not sorry. I'm not drunk, I just have an odd sense of humor.

Anyway, the beer is OK, but not a proper IPA. If you're ever out Montana way, instead look for their Shake-A-Day.

No, I won't apologize for bad poetry, either.

Upvote and comment if you really want some uncensored pics of bare aluminium, and I'll think about it. No promises, though.

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency