#Beersaturday - A couple of Goats

image.png

We had settled in to watch the opening ceremony of the Tokyo Olympics, I'm not really sure why - I don't tend to find opening cermonies to be that interesting, actually I don't find the Olympics to be that interesting, at least not until the second week and we get to the Athletics, that I like.

Anyway what is the most appropriate beers to watch some of the greatest athletes of all time - why it has to be a Goat - specifically Mountain Goat - a small brewery from Richmond in Melbourne Australia that grew up to be a part of the Japanese Asahi brewing empire. See, doubly apt.

The two beers in question are part of the Rare Breed range, and it's good to see that even as part of the international brewing empire they can still make out there beers that would never get through the 6 month product development process and focus groups.

The beers are both Triple IPAs and they focus on a single hop, each. Namely Citra and Strata

Let's start with Strata

image.png

This was not as pungent as I expected as I poured it. It did have a great amber colour, and this might be a sign I drink too many NEIPAs - I was surprised that t was quite clear. The body is solid without being sweet. These are both beers which are 9% - hence the Triple IPA name - but this is very balanced and really far to easy to drink for it's own good. Strata hops are meant to be passionfruit and pot - I’m never a big fan of dank hop taste so that’s likely what is keeping this in the good zone than great.

On to Citra

image.png

Citra is one of my favourite hops so I have high hopes for this. I'm also pretty fimilar with the tastes I should be expecting. This seems a little thinner than the strata in the body and the hop flavour is higher in the register - not super fruity (I remember a time when Citra was pretty much the juiciest hop you could get) - Now it's more in the refreshing zone than the sweet fruity IPAs of the modern day.

Call be a tradtionalist - give me a great West Coast IPA anyday.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency