Grüner Naturtrüb in the Brewery House, Fürth

It seems I need more Saturdays per week since I have a huge gap between beers I drink (and breweries I visit) and posting about them. I was in Nuremberg three weeks ago and managed to see Fürth which is basically one of Nuremberg suburbs nowadays. Both cities are well connected by public transport so I could take an S-Bahn train there. The Grüner Brauhaus (Brewery House) history stretches back to the early 18th century, which is not really rare for a brewery in central Europe. Finding the place was easy, but there’s still something to know before you just rush in as I did. Its address, Comödien-Platz 1, is not just a historical relic, the brewery shares its building with an actual comedy theatre.

Vypadá to, že bych potřeboval týdny s více sobotami, protože mezi ochutnanými pivy (a navštívenými pivovary) a posty o nich mám stále velkou mezeru. V Norimberku jsem byl před třemi týdny a dostal jsem se i do Fürth, což je dnes víceméně asi stotisícové předměstí Norimberku. Obě města jsou propojená veřejnou dopravou, takže jsem se mohl svézt S-Bahnem. Historie Grüner Brauhaus (pivovarského domu) se táhne už od počátku 18. století, což ale u středoevropského pivovaru není žádná velká rarita. Najít pivovar je snadné, ale stejně byste měli vědět o jedné maličkosti, než do něj jako já vtrhnete. Jeho adresa, Comödien-Platz 1, není jen nějaký relikt minulosti, pivovar opravdu sdílí budovu s divadlem komedie.

If there’s an evening performance, all the tables are usually reserved as the audience usually dines and drinks before the show. So when I walked in, a waiter told me they had no table for me. I argued that I was just thirsty and didn’t need to eat there. I also bragged that as a Czech, I was capable to finish a Maßkrug (a German word for a 1L beer glass that we call “tuplák” in Czech; stay tuned for one of my next #beersaturday posts) and hit the road faster than he would take an order from a family at one of the tables. He eventually showed some mercy and let me have two beers (as I was thirsty and faster than he expected) in a common 0.5L glass. Well, it wasn't an ordinary glass, more like a traditional jug.

Anyways, the lesson is learned: Book your table in Grüner Brauhaus in advance!

Když divadlo večer hraje, všechny stoly bývají rezervované pro diváky, kteří před představením většinou večeří a popíjejí. Takže když jsem vešel, číšník mi řekl, že pro mě nemají stůl. Odpověděl jsem, že mám jen žízeň, a že se můžu najíst jinde. A taky jsem se pochlubil, že coby Čech zvládnu vypít tuplák a odejít rychleji, než si on svede zapsat objednávku támhleté rodiny u jiného stolu. Nakonec se nade mnou slitoval a nechal mě dát si dvě piva (měl jsem žízeň a pil rychleji než čekal) v klasických půllitrech. Respektive v klasickém pivním džbánku.

Každopádně ponaučení zní: Stůl si v Grüner Brauhaus rezervujte předem!

I didn’t have time to be picky so I just asked my merciful waiter for the beer he’d recommend. Good choice, he served me Grüner Naturtrüb. This unfiltered and unpasteurized kellerbier is a specialty of the house and was definitely worth a little bit of begging for my seat. Kellerbier is an old Bavarian lager style and I haven’t drink many others that I could use as a reference, so just in a nutshell: the beer is pleasantly fruity at the first sip and a bit dry in the aftertaste. Yet everything felt well balanced. I cannot tell much about the foam or colour since it is served in a “Krug”, as you see.

Neměl jsem čas být vybíravý, a tak jsem svého slitovného číšníka poprosil, ať přinese pivo, které by mi doporučil. Dobrá volba, přinesl Grüner Naturtrüb. Tenhle nefiltrovaný a nepasterovaný ležák stylu kellerbier je specialita podniku a rozhodně stál za trochu toho žadonění o místo. Kellerbier je starý bavorský pivní styl, ze kterého ještě nemám napito tolik, abych měl nějaké srovnání. Tak jen stručně: pivo je na první doušek příjemně ovocné a trochu sušší v dozvuku. Všechny chutě spolu hezky hrají. O barvě a pěně toho moc neřeknu, protože se pivo podává v "Krugu", jak sami vidíte.

A coaster.

Pivní podtácek.

I wished I could stay longer and dine there – the restaurant felt like a good place to eat. Maybe next time.

Mrzí mě, že jsem se nemohl zdržet déle a povečeřet – restaurace vypadala fajn. Tak třeba příště.

I met this bunch of people outside. I believe they were actors getting ready for a show. On the other hand, people sometimes wear traditional costumes in Bavaria…

Venku jsem potkal tuhle skupinku. Myslím, že to jsou herci, co se chystají na představení. Na druhou stranu lidé v Bavorsku občas chodí v tradičních krojích...

By the way, I had a bottle of Grüner as a welcome drink in my hotel in Nuremberk.

Mimochodem, Grüner byl i jako welcome drink na hotelu v Norimberku.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency