Diaries of a Fluffy Rican: Giving in and tasting a hard seltzer

IMG_20210827_021616.jpg

So I actually bought this Dos Equis a little more then a week ago, from the local market. It came in a "surprise" six pack. I call it that because there was a premade assorted six pack, and I figured it would make a fun #beersaturday challenge.

@dreamingirwin/diaries-of-a-fluffy-rican-beersaturday-unexpected-treat

I took the six pack home without really looking at is contents, and overall it was fun time. I actually enjoyed all the different beers that came with it. Like this one.

received_135877325386942.jpeg

Lately I tend to prefer a lighter #beer, and though I'll enjoy an IPA. It's not really my first choice. Yet it lived up it's name. It had a nice citrus taste, followed by the expected ipa flavors.

I also enjoy the bright colorful label. I admit it's a little superficial, yet it makes the moment feel a little more festive.

Having a beer for me lately is more of treat. Usually decided on whim or an unexpected invite. Kinda like this blue moon I ordered.

IMG_20210731_211741.jpg

While waiting for a white chocolate macadamia nut cookie ala mode.

Screenshot_20210828-014155.jpg

Neither of them were planned, yet they were the perfect treat for a long day working on the sun. I'm really enjoying Colorado, and the freedom I've had since arriving here. For the last two months I've been able to make my own schedule. Keeping myself busy with some self reflection, some intentional studies, a decent amount of hard work, and getting reacquainted with the hive community.

I had almost forgotten about the Dos Equis, until I saw it in the far corner of the fridge. It was the last "beer" standing, and honestly it was kind of intentional. I've purposefully avoided trying a hard seltzer until now, but my mind was made up. I reluctantly grabbed the can, and prepared for the worst.

IMG_20210827_021818.jpg

Wanting to give it a fair chance, I poured some into a shot glass. Raising it to my nose, I found that it had a nice lime scent. To my surprise, I actually like the taste. I could have drank it without the helpers, but seeing how I had already gotten them ready. I mixed it anyways. Turns out it was actually pretty good. Not sure if I'll try any other hard seltzers, but at least I know I like this one.

I hope you enjoyed my #beersaturday entry. If this is your first time hearing about this challenge, I invite you to try the challenge on for yourself. Also please visit the #beer community. You'll find that they're a lively group. The #beersaturday challenge is hosted by @detlev, and supported by an amazing group of #beer loving people. Thanks for sharing with me. God bless.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency