Curator Cat Caturday: Foot Injuries and Surprise Overnight Riches!

Greetings fabulous Felines and Hoomans of Greater Hivelandia!

We have made it to the last weekend of the month of July, and that also means we have made it to the final CATURDAY of July! So get out your cute cat and kitten pictures and share with the world!

CC0089-LookingDown.jpg
On my favorite sheepskin!

Caturday is not Just "Some Made-up Thing!"

Ever stop to wonder about "Caturday?"

Well, it's not exactly new and it has become a pretty global thing, celebrating the fact that cats have somehow become the "unofficial mascots" of the Internet.

How did that happen?

CC0089-WhiteBasket.JPG
"If I fits, I sleeps!"

Objectively, I think it mostly has to do with the fact that when we are sitting in front of our computers, engaged in things in the virtual world it tends to be CATS — not DOGS — who jump on desks and fall asleep on computer keyboards.

If you're interested in the background and history of Caturday, I wrote an article about it several years ago. Check it out!

CC0089-WithBear.jpg
Cats get to sleep with their bear, too!

Hive-Engine Anomalies and Overnight Riches!

The Cryptosphere can be an amazing and strange place at times. Fortunes can me made and lost in a matter of moments.

Sometimes short term anomalies can result in the appearance of riches... perhaps for no reason other than "decimal slip;" someone typing one CENT as one DOLLAR.

Imagine my surprise and confusion when I saw this in my Hive-Engine wallet, this morning:

CC0089-CAT-Tokens.JPG

Did my modest holdings of @catnet's CAT tokens really become worth almost US $5,000, overnight? Did token creator @fraenk just become the latest crypto millionaire?

Of course, what we are really looking at here is one of those short-term anomalies we sometimes see with "thinly traded" assets that have almost no liquidity... probably someone buying up the entire supply at the current market rate, as well as a fractional token at someone's "moonshot" sell price.

But it's still fun stuff when it happens!

CC0089-LookingUp.jpg
I think there's a spider on the ceiling...

CuratorCat as "Healer Cat"

On the whole, it has been a quiet week around our place.

The one exception happened a few days ago when the Mom-Hooman accidentally dropped a frozen chicken on her foot. Do you have any IDEA how much it hurts to have a 5lb frozen "rock" dropped on you?

FilterTree

I'm glad nobody has ever dropped a frozen chicken on me!

So we started off by soaking the foot in icy water. Of course, I was right there and ready to help with "first aid."

I don't much like water, but I felt it was essential that I put my dislike aside and inspect it! Yes, it was appropriately cold!

We cats are very intuitive and know when the Hoomans around us are in pain... so I spent the last three days hanging out with the Mom-Hooman, trying my best to comfort her as she nursed her swollen and painful foot.

The cool thing about Hoomans with foot injuries is that they tend to not move around very much, so I pretty much had a lap at my service for a few days! And I was providing some much welcomed "kitty medicine."

Thankfully, she's getting better now!

Another Month Beckons!

And so, July comes to a close!

Looks like I am going to fall just short of my ambition to make it to 2,000 HP before the end of the month, but that will happen in August, for sure!

Until the next time, I hope you are all having an awesome Caturday!

=..=

HC0000CatHeader4.jpg

Love Cats? Get Involved in Hive's Cat Communties!

If you're a cat lover and often/sometimes post pictures or other content that includes your feline friends, why not become an active part of Hive's growing Cat Communities?

These are some of the more active Cat Communities — why not join them ALL? Remember, you can also "cross-post" your cat posts to them!

HiveCats by @curatorcat is a central "gathering place" for cat content on Hive; promoting the use of the #hivecats tag for feline content!

Cat Snaps by @manorvillemike is a place to post pictures of your cats when you don't have a whole lot to say beyond just sharing your cute photos!

Caturday Community by @saboin is a community where we get to celebrate posts relating to Saturday — aka "Caturday" — our own special day!

Cat Photos by @andrarchy is a "mixed use" cat content community; posts can be just photos or longer, as long as the subject is CATS! It has a lot of subscribers but is not very active.

Cats by @captainklaus (and Sissi!) is another "general" cat content community; it's there, but not very active.

Last, but certainly not least, a special shoutout to the recently formed Hive Pets Community which has become quite active and has quite a bit of cat content!

There are a number of other feline communities listed on Hive, but I am not sharing them for now as they have not had any activity (by their Admins OR users) since the Steem/Hive fork. Updates as they become available!

089/401 20210731

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency