A Star Wars TShirt Story

social_mandalorian-shirt-designs.jpg

Last week was my kid's birthday. @koolitime hit the big 13. He was a teenager.

To celebrate the upcoming years of rebellious and emotional anguish that he was about to subject @raynie and I to, we decided to go crazy!

We hit up the Disney Hollywood Studios park here in Florida and visited Galaxy's Edge for the first time! It surpassed all our expectations. We did everything there was to see and do and buy, haha! But I'll share those details in another post someday.

Today, I wanted to take this May the Fourth to present the T-Shirt designs we made.

Over the years, it has become a family tradition to create custom matching shirts whenever we go to the parks. Come to think of it, I bet it would be a fun post to share all the designs we had over the years. I think I'll do that one of these days.

But today is about STAR WARS...and my KID!

@koolitime has been taking an interest in what I do for a living. As a result, he's become proficient at how vector art is made. I couldn't be prouder! He's learned some advanced design skills at a rather young age. If he keeps it up, I'm sure he'll be able to pursue his dream of doing something creative.

So we decided to tackle this trip's T-shirt designs TOGETHER!

The first thing we had to do is figure out the overall theme and style. Since Star Wars land was the highlight to the whole trip, it made sense to go with Star Wars. And since The Mandalorian is our favorite Star Wars show/movie/story...we knew that would be our focus.

Now came STYLE.

We settled on doing something a little different. We both enjoyed the Adventure Time cartoon, so we figured it would be really cool to imagine Star Wars characters as they might appear in that quirky, cartoony style of art.

AdventureTime.jpg

I made some rough sketches, then he imported them onto his iPad.

grogu-sketch.jpeg

He then created vector artwork based on the sketches I gave him. Once he had the line work and colors banged out, we partnered up on any finishing touches. Added the text. Then ordered the shirts!

We were pretty happy with how they came out, so we thought other people might want them too. So I went ahead and added them to our Etsy store (for any Star Wars fans who dig the style).

When we think of something cool or funny, we offer the merch here:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/KooliDesign

I hope you guys all have a Happy May 4th! And may the Fourth Be With You!

sig_hive_nateaguila.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency