Rediscovering The Monster of Disco and finding my flow, again

It all started with this tree...

In all honesty, it did not but it could have...

The above picture was taken yesterday afternoon, when I was having a tea with a fellow co-creative space human, my studio 'neighbor' in fact, who often, including right now while I type this, finds himself on the other side of my left wall, the one that I pinned a bunch of 'Hypersensitivosaurus' and 'Monster of Disco' drawings and sketchies on for inspiration and decoration.

While sipping from our mugs of tea, with the afternoon chill setting in, I mentioned "seeing animals, figures and probably even monsters" in a tree like that. My neighbor said that often happened to him too.

And now, almost 24 hours later, I am finally back to drawing some monsters, again, after 'not having felt it' for quite some time.

In fact, my younger sister, who lives in The Netherlands, asked me yesterday afternoon ( freely translated from Dutch ):

Are you enjoying the writing in your studio?


And I replied as follows:

I spend quite a lot of time there
but the (v)inspiration has temporarily gone.


After which she said:

That's a shame
I guess it's time for new adventures



My response was:

Who knows
It will come back
There's no logic behind my creative process
but forcing it also does not work.


Fast forward to today, where I started feeling it a little bit, again...

I basically had some fun, battled a bit with paint and crayons ( oil pastels ) and made some attempts at monsters,
the only similarity being all three of them holding a pole

or more like a tree trunk or branch, this time, as I felt like incorporating nature into the picture.

The following drawing, made with oil pastels, ended up sideways after uploading this photo and I realized it looks better this way.

What was at first intended to become a hairy monster, ended up being a slimy, mollusk like creature with grass growing out of it.

Here it seems to be hanging from a branch:

The picture below shows how I drew it, horizontally ( at the side of the pole/ branch ) and I like it less, this way.

I also tried to give it some kind of aura ( the purple/whitish blur around it )


And this ugly fellow is what first came out of my hands and mind, this afternoon...

Think of it as a monster ( possibly 'The Monster of Disco' but likely a different kind of monster ) posing at the pole or at a tree trunk before a pole dancing session/ training.

I didn't like it enough and later blurred its head and made it bigger.

I now kind of regret that but that is how (my) creativity works.

It's all part of the process.

Long story short:

I am happy that my creativity is finally returning to me and I also get why it seemed blocked ( real life drama/ distractions and too much focus on others ).

I can't wait to create a lot more and update you more often.

Onward and upward!

P.S. To refresh your memories, here is a previous 'Monster of Disco' post, with underneath it a series of older write ups ( including art ) on that topic:

The Monster of Disco - Stealing the Show

apparently I wrote this less than two months ago, but it feels like ages.

TO BE CONVINUED...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now