Throwback Thursday: Art Contest🎨🖌️ at a Cultural Event

(Edited with Fotoplay)
Hey guys 👋
How're you doing 💕
In last week for two days we had the celebration of saraiki culture. Our university, Quaid-e-Azam University, Islamabad, is nick named as mini-Pakistan. The reason is the quota criteria in our admission system, which includes certain ratios for certain provinces and other categories of special cases. This makes us experience the true essence of cultural diversity in Pakistan.
We interact with them, and celebrate such cultural days together.

And this particular event is one of the series of them.
Guess what they had also organised a art contest, then how could I resist my self from participating 😆.

So the Theme was "Wasaib Culture" representation of saraiki culture.

Some Glimpses of the Day

In the morning, I packed my luggage and on reaching the venue I realised, that I was there a bit early.
There were some sellers organising their book stalls. I do love books, but I don't understand that why they increase their prices too high when they visit institutes. So I just skipped the idea of buying the book, as the only affordable thing was clicking some photos 😂.

Then I went further to see an exhibition of some traditional saraiki items.

Now finally the contest was about to start. I also put my luggage their took a drawing board and started working.

I had made a prototype of my intented work. For which I used photos of Google as reference for the different elements.

I could not capture and record as I always do because of the conformity of time.

I worked a bit slower, so in the end I had to skip some elements, to get the work finished in time.
It turned out better than I had thought.

The architechure is "Noor Mahal" , The blue coloured shawl is their particular patterned in this colour, the desert shows most of the land that that is inhabited by saraiki speakers and the plant on the left hand side is wheat, which is the most occuring crop of that area. I had also drawn a camel (aka plane of the deserts) and sugar canes but had to skip them later.

After submitting work I left for the class. And I got called to report the art contest area for results announcement. I was hopeful for something better.

Meanwhile waiting there, I texted in the discord group that we are waiting for the results. And @dlmmqb strongly wished me a 2nd place. And guess what I got 2nd position 😂. (I know Dlm, your intentions were not bad😅)

After getting certificates I took some pictures of the activities going on their.


Personally I really like the saraiki ghumar ( in fact not just saraiki but also others, like attan ).
And believe me you can't have enough of watching them moving in such synchronization. Unfortunately, I could not capture it.

Okay guys I hope you enjoyed my blog as much I enjoyed saraiki mila.
See ya soon.🦋
Bye bye 👋

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
31 Comments
Ecency