First disappearing snow fall

October 14th, 2021
Temperature 36F/2.2C

First Snow

It had to happen sooner or later, and it happened over night and this morning. We had our first completely insignificant snow of the season. I mention in my driveway saga post significant snow, I suppose I should say what I mean by that.

Snow that is at least one inch and remains on the ground for at least two days before melting away. This morning the temperature was 36 degrees and it was a slight mix of snow and rain, not exactly fun to drive in, so I did not.

First snow image from 10:46 AM I was surprised the snow lasted this far and a little bit beyond. Had I not slept in so long I may have been able to show just a little bit more snow, but with it being a mix of rain and snow that would be questionable.

So just a smattering of snow, we will likely get some more snow since the birds are already here to ask for hand outs. They tend to do that when the weather is going to the birds so to speak.


Here we are a few hours later at 13:38 (1:38 PM).
Snow gone by 1:38 PM Not much left jsut a few puddles in the driveway. The temperature warmed up to 39 F/3.8 C by that time.

It is actually pretty pleasant feeling outside right now, (3:30), no wind and just enough moisture to make it feel like a pretty nice winter T-shirt weather day. That will change though any wind, or increase in the moisture or a clearing of the skies, the temperature will drop and it will feel cold.

The weather is strange like that in Northern Climates, I am pretty sure it is like that in most of the Northern world. Only a person living in the North knows what it is like to wear just a t-shirt outside in freezing or below freezing weather.

There is no doubt now, winter is here, mix of snow and rain, and a hope we do not have a freezing rain winter.

Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency