Oh My RDR2 - Happy New Year!

Hello there,

I know you must be thinking about the title, I kept this title because creating something in RDR 2 is not easy. The outcome may look somewhat okayish, but it took me multiple chances and thinking!

Why it was so tough? RDR 2 is known for its realism, and even if the contest blog has a direct hint of how I can make it, I refrain from it, because I don't want to lose many honor points while doing the same. Earning honor points is a long process; losing them requires only a single shot at innocent live creatures! Let's see my journey of making a happy new year in RDR 2!

Okay, let's start the challenge. The challenge is mentioned in this blog, I encourage you gamers to participate in this and make the most out of this contest!


My first thought was to shoot at the white surface and draw a Happy New Year text but nope, it was not looking great and not going as per design either. And also shooting out is not going to be that amazing for this challenge!

Then I thought how about I loot wagons and make HNY out of it, but no, it's tough to collect all 10 wagons in a single region. It will alert the lawmen and I will end up in jail or getting knocked out.

While thinking I got this little side mission to help a person out of the animal trap. I offered him some medicine and Kentucky wine.

After that quest, I saw this man fishing, hmm, how about I line up big fish?

Although I know fishing, catching a big fish will take up more time and I have to roam around the river to catch multiple. And making something out of animal, and fish carcasses is not easy! I will tell you why.

One can only stash fish and can't throw or line up on the ground. Crocodiles was a nice idea as well, but again it's quite risky dealing with giants!

Then again I met this fine man, he was telling a story about a fine lady. He was telling his story and I was just staring at his fine horse, how about I line them up in HNY?

Okay! On my way! Finally a great plan! Yeew-Haww!!
I need to look for a herd of horses and use them for this challenge.

I searched the entire region and found a herd of 5-6 horses! I killed my first horse and dragged it to my optimal location.

I aligned the first horse and went to hunt the second horse!

Got the second one, tied up with my lasso, and dragged it to my location. While killing horses, I was getting negative honor points.

Two horses aligned to make the straight line for H. And I went on to hunt the third horse.

I was working late in the night. Got my third and happily dragged it to my point. But I was about to witness something really bad.

Vultures and hyenas ate one of my horses. I forgot RDR 2 is based on realism, and scavengers will come. Plan failed. Hunting horses was taking too much time and while returning one of my horses would be eaten up.

Okay back to planning again! While dragging the third horse I saw a camp. It had some goats as well. I can use them.

I need to kill the owner and then use his goats to complete my challenge. I sneaked into his little hut and killed the owner.

After dealing with him, I went to check the barn for the goats and sheep. They ran away from the barn and I had to hunt them. Thanks to the barn dog, it held the goats in a confined location.

Back on the job! Mission to hunt the goats! It's morning and hence easy to hunt them down. I have to be aware of vultures and foxes this time!

Hunted some goats and made my H! Finally!

Guests arrived! I applied my 140 IQ strategy and hitched my horse next to the spot. This way vultures won't come down to eat my goats and foxes will stay away as well!

Made my N almost. It was not easy for me to tie them up with a lasso and align them perfectly. I kept on checking from a height to see how it was taking shape.

Oh no! I was short on goats, I am one goat short to draw my Y. I aligned the last goat for Y and went on to find something else. Remember I can't go too far away else the realism will decay my goats and I will lose my progress!

Found this buddy and I had to shoot him. I earned fewer negative honors compared to killing horses.

It was getting dark again and I had to work for the second night straight. My energy bar, red eye depleted a lot.

Finally Made my Y! Hours of hunting, sleepless nights, few negative points, and a lot of brain power. That's all required to make this!

The sun was about to rise, and my efforts finally took shape. It was worth it! Here is a clearer and better picture of the idea.

I am heading back to the camp!

It was tough but in the end, my efforts paid off. I have to keep on changing plans and trying out many ideas.

I felt like this is how life works as well, you keep on trying, making and changing plans, failures, and then success! That's how everything works.

Thank you for reading such a long post, it's about 1000 words as well. My journey in this challenge was filled with ups and downs.

Foot-Notes:

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Screenshots are from the game, Red Dead Redemption 2
  • I took many pics of HNY from its taking shape to its outcome. Hope this qualifies the 5 pics requirements @gamingphoto
  • I nominate @inuke bhai and @bhattg bhai, they both can do much better than me!
  • I saw @pravesh0 bhai's post. Awesome work!
  • @izuki.midoriya bring your horses man.
  • @scrooger join in buddy!
  • The challenge/contest is mentioned in this blog

Happy New Year! To all of you!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency