Climbing snow-capped mountain in Yukon Valley Reserve | theHunter: Call of the Wild

Hello and Welcome back to my blog!



This Week's Contest theme by the Gaming Photography community is Mountain Stories and I love to climb mountains both in real life and in the games.

I have climbed some of the highest peaks in "Silver Ridge Peaks" reserves and shared them on my blog while playing theHunter: Call of the Wild. Today, I want to share another mountain hiking adventure, the Redrock Ascent.

This is a mountain rising from the base of the Crimson Plains in Yukon Valley Reserve.

You can see the mountain in the distance. There was some snow on the top and it was far away. At least 5 Km and there were no fast-travel locations closer to it. I had to use my ATV to reach at least the base of the mountains. If I had walked it would have taken like 30-40 mins.

I was going close to a quiet late which looked beautiful. So, I had to stop and take a picture.

After the lake, I had to cross a forest. I didn't know there was a forest too. It was not visible when I started and going through a dense forest is bad for my ATV. I was bumping into so many trees which damaged it a lot.

But the challenges were not over yet. There was a river blocking our way too! I had to drive along the shore to find shallow water so I could cross it with my ATV.

After some more driving through rough terrain, I reached the base of the summit.

One of the interesting things I saw was a Brown Bear trying to get away from my vehicle but even he couldn't climb the mountain and was panicking so hard. I had to zoom in with my camera to see him in action. That was funny to watch. It was a real struggle until his brain started working again and he went to the right side and disappeared into the woods never to be seen again.

Now, I see why this is called the RedRock Ascent. You can see how beautiful it looks. I tried to use my ATV as much as I could.

But after some point, I had to ditch it as it failed to go any higher and I had to use a combination of jumps, crouchs and running to get over the slopes.

I left my ATV and even Sheru didn't want to come together. You can see him in the next photo (on the right of ATV, in the shadows). Even he thought my idea was foolish...lol

This was the first time I saw the snow from close. The sun was rising over the mountain and it looked beautiful. My goal was to find a way to get up there. I knew I had to circle and find slopes I could climb. (If the slope is too steep, the game just doesn't allow you to climb)

As I circled and found a good slope to climb, Sheru decided to come and join me too. He wasn't looking too interested though.

I found another lake surrounded by the mountain range. What a beautiful place to have a big lake like this. I wanted to get close and see what if some animals were drinking there but I was on a mission to climb the mountain. So, I didn't allow myself to get distracted.

Finally, we were running in the snow! Look at Sheru, he was jumping and running all over the snow. He looked happy now but still was a bit behind me. (He must be thinking let this stupid human go first and if he survives I will follow him...lol)

We were almost at the top! But here comes the sad part, the highest peak of this mountain was just out of bounds of this map and going over it the game just teleports you back to your nearest outpost. So, even though we were almost at the top, we couldn't be at the top.


This was a very fun adventure nevertheless. Seeing Sheru happy and running over the snow gave me enough joy. We overcome so many challenges to come here. I travelled around 5 kilometres in tough terrain crossing rivers, forests, and valleys and passing by beautiful lakes. Seeing a struggle Brown Bear and probably one of the biggest lakes in the game along with the snow-capped mountain range which makes a natural border in this map. This was some adventure! I hope you all had fun reading this!

Thanks for reading...

Until next hunt...

Note:

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Screenshots are from the game, theHunter: Call of the Wild.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency