A Tale of 2 Pizzas - Fate Intervenes

untitled_design_36_.jpg
Created using Canva Pro library

Delilah dug deep, stifling a choking sob which threatened to unravel her. Her bruised heart ached. But she didn't hate him. She could never hate Henry. As Jet brought her within sight of the Pizza Baron's domain, she brushed her fingers lightly across her lips. The magic still lingered. She had felt his heart, and he had understood hers.

She leaned into Jet, whispering in his ear, rubbing his mane gently as she did, urging him onwards to the main gates. She had already decided that her arrival would come clearly announced.

On the final approach, she reined Jet in and alighted in front of the guardhouse. Within moments, however, a dozen guards or more emerged from within the shadows of the walls and she found herself surrounded; a plethora of muzzles pointed in her direction.

One of the guards, a surly-looking young man, stepped forward menacingly, demanding:

Speak your name and business, young lass!

Delilah had not anticipated such a strong response to her arrival. The reception seemed overkill. Something else must surely have happened! She thought better at that moment, of her intended directness, and sought to appease rather than aggrieve. She'd be honest, to a point!

Good day Sir, I was out riding with my stable hand and we got terribly lost. Somehow we have since become separated and I consider it my great fortune that I find myself here at the Centre of the Barony. I seek only direction, but perhaps first a place to water my horse and a little food and water if you have to spare. You see my provisions are all but depleted as I have been away from home for a couple of days already.

The guard hesitated before once again demanding:

And your name, young lady?

Oh, forgive me, sir, my name is Delilah. Delilah Busk... er....um... Delilah Busket. I hail from afar.

No need to associate with her father just yet, she thought, and best not to be too transparent in the absence of any knowledge regarding the apparent heightened security.

The guard's eyes dressed her down. It was clear he had not planned on this inconvenience. He briefly retreated and offered some words to a few of the men behind him, and then returned to face her:

Well, Delilah ... Busk - et, you say? I suggest you accompany my men inside. They will allow you to refresh yourself, get you some provisions, and provide your horse with some rest, water, and a little feed.

Delilah offered her gratitude and turned to follow the men inside the gates, a notable sigh of relief escaping her. She would reassess once she had rested and then seek out Danny as soon as possible.
And with that, the surly-looking guard gave instructions to another to seek out Danny Rupert immediately. They were on high alert for a reason and Danny had asked to be informed immediately of any unexplained anomalies at the gates. He had issued a warning to the entire security team that trouble may be brewing in the Barony, and nobody outside the four walls of the estate was to be trusted. The guard's eyes narrowed, surely there was no coincidence in the Fruit Baron's daughter arriving at their door, on the same evening that the Fruit Baron himself had become the prime target in the Barony. The young lady's youthful play at innocence was not fooling anyone!


Wait up, please sir, please wait up...

The cries stirred something inside of him, and Henry slowed Amber to a stop, looking over his shoulder at the wild young man giving chase on the road behind him.

The man caught up, and breathing heavily, started to relay his story, Henry's eyes widening with each progression of the account.

... and so you see, I really don't know who I am. All I know is that this tablet that I now carry with me is extremely important, although I have no idea of the meaning behind the strange glyphs engraved on it. There is definitely something big afoot though, as I had no sooner slipped out through one of the side gates of the Barony when the security presence at the Main Entrance was increased almost tenfold. I saw their presence growing with my own eyes, upon looking back to ensure that my escape remained unnoticed. I wouldn't like to be a traveler arriving at the Barony under these circumstances today.

Henry could feel the colour draining from his visage, as fear for Delilah's safety crept up through every fibre of his being. He looked the man over again. He was slightly older than himself and his story was believable. His desire to turn tail and ride to Delilah's aid was almost overwhelming, but... he paused for reflection... he knew deep down that the odds were insurmountable, and heart sinking, he understood that there was nothing he could do now to save her from herself. What would be, would be. A deep sense of resignation prevailed. His only hope of protecting her now was to seek out her father immediately.

I think you should come with me to see the Fruit Baron. I am hopeful that he will still be up at the old Solar Estate where I saw him earlier this evening. Is there anything else that you think I should know about before we head off?

Asked Henry, extending a hand to his new companion,

If we are to get to the Hills quickly, you will need to ride up in the saddle behind me.

I don't think so,

Wes replied, ... before quickly adding,

although I do have this little book describing the Solar Power Extension Project around the Barony that I picked up. Do you think it could be of any use?


This is my contest entry to @dibblers.dabs A Tale of Two Pizzas collaboration to write and publish the first Novella Collaboration on the Hive Blockchain.

You can catch the archived listing of posts making up the story so far here and this week's contest post with Dab's continuation piece here

We are just finishing week 16 today. Follow @dibblers.dabs to pick up on the next week's contest in a few day's time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency