First Time Playing Disc Golf - Bluebell Woods, Dunbar in Scotland

After seeing a post about disc golf by @bozz last week, I looked around on the tinternet and found a course not that far from where I live. I'd always wanted to play disc golf, having always loved frisbee, and just didnt think there were any courses here in Scotland - luckily I was wrong !

6Tt9i1HnQwSEuj4xzylKdQ.jpeg

I took my daughter and her friend because they have a few days of school this week (they are both 14).

D3ZILhT-TQuKIJQvxNFaWw.jpeg

Thats the 'club house' above ! The guy who runs it, Shamus, runs it out of an Iso-container ! He was a really nice guy and showed us the ropes.

u0M2gGX4TFOMXyZzU2QJpA.jpeg

The setup was absolutely lovely. Its located in a forest park along with some other outdoor activities. There was a lake with inflatables and wakeboarding. We also saw a squad of people going through the woods on Segways.

gFKOL4w5QqeJxSna8GKzhg.jpeg

There were 3 different courses, with 3 different difficulties. We took the green beginners course and I'm glad to say that we didnt completely embarrass ourselves !

DlB0QFY8SGueiaCI362Fyw.jpeg

The par for the course was 56, and we got around in 76, 87 and 88 - not too bad for our first go I think. The baskets were all clearly marked, and the forest setting was very tranquil.

6XJMw-6cQd2CSMlx1fjruA.jpeg

It was really cheap as well - only £8 (~$10) each for the whole day - you could go as many times as you liked, and they guy loaned us a disc each in that price. I thought that was really reasonable.

vHPLtw3XTWWN-em5AY4CLg.jpeg

It really was a beautiful day, and the sun was shinning nicely. We spotted quite a large tree down in the woods near a few of the baskets.

Hen69-PNTsynJHPqBfXTvA.jpeg

There was also some kind of tree-tops activity course in the same area, which made it quite interesting !

fVCKLYSLSH6p9Lvke_tUYw.jpeg

Thats my daughter lining up a shot on one of the baskets.

CYxGbSeoQAe0Uwf6YgWLkA.jpeg

I absolutely loved it. I could have easily gone round atleast twice, but my daughter and her friend were hungry after the first round, so we left site to go eat. But I'd absolutely go back - it was great fun, and such a beautiful location. We also got about 5000 steps under our belt - so nice and helathy too. I will definitely be going back !

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency