2021-10 - Carrying the Tradition Part 2

Welcome to the second part of the October 2021 AZL rucking update!

img_1223.jpg

When we last left off, I had just finished seeing the basic cargo straps onto the frame. In this second half of the month, I found a faster approach, and now am using these 1 Inch Sliplock® Plastic Triglide Slides with Teeth.

img_1233.png

I didn’t cut the straps I’d already sewn, but all straps from this point forward will be secured to the frame using these slides. Continuous improvement woo woo woo…

img_1229.jpg

Earlier this month I started formulating this longer route (above). Seeing as I started out at around 2-2.5 miles, initially I considered this 4.8-5 mile route to be a significant improvement in my training tools. But by the time I’d made it this far, it had become inevitable to me that I was going to need to extend my route further.

img_1235.jpg

After reviewing my existing route on a physical map, I was able to plan for two additional loop-backs and one extension of the primary loop. Moving cautiously, I tested these updates individually.

img_1231.jpg

In a less cautious form, the map above shows one route that I made up on the fly. I had just hit the 3 mile mark, and so I decided if I looped back, I should be able to up my distance to 6 miles, and also would avoid the part of my route that has the highest traffic…I was shocked to come in this much under the 6 mile mark, but it didn’t matter; I already knew that I didn’t like looping back.

img_1227.jpg

Above, the first loop-back was tested without the main loop extension. This one addition took me up to 6 miles. It felt good, but it can be tough to force yourself to cover redundant ground when it’s after midnight and you’re on your fourth or fifth mile.

img_1228.jpg

In this last map, I tested the second loop-back with the extension. This brought me up to almost 6.5 miles, and there was a full loop-back available that was not added. Making the time to ruck the new map with all loop-backs and extensions was going to be a priority for November, but I do these marches in the middle of the night and it can often be difficult to carve out more ruck time (when I should be sleeping).

October was a fun month with many exciting changes both the the load and to the route itself. I didn’t get to try the full extended route this month, but this will be forthcoming shortly!

img_1221.jpg

Would you like to get paid in crypto for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 25.85 PRE tokens, with a market value of $7.75. It’s no fortune, but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0.
Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on internet searches!!!

If you'd like to sign up, click or tap the banner below to use my referral link!

presearch

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency