The iced Buffalo Trace

Whisky has never been my thing, hubby is a fan so I'm surrounded by whisky quite a lot at home and know a tad about it even though I don't touch a drop.

DSC_4551.JPG

Recently he bought a new bottle called Buffalo Trace. Normally he drinks scotch, or Japanese whisky. This is the first time he's bought a bottle of bourbon. He said the review on this one was quite good and the price was reasonable. We got it for £23 at Sainsbury, a local supermarket. Then a few weeks later we saw it on offer at Morrison, another supermarket for £20. Then last week we saw it at Waitrose, one of the more premium supermarkets at £19!!!! 😤

It's good timing to buy this bottle as my kiddo nephew is staying with me during summer. He's just graduated from university and hubby is introducing him to more grownup stuff. Whisky being one of them - that's when I'm around, not sure what happens when I'm not around 😅. Kiddo doesn't like red wine, but so far he's enjoying the whisky, even though this isn't the best. He ain't seen nothing yet.

Last time kiddo came to visit us was in Taiwan three years ago. We paid for his trip from Hong Kong (his home) to Taiwan where we were living then, it was a reward to celebrate him getting into universtiy. Hubby has all his nice whiskys in Taiwan, but kiddo was a bit too young back then, so he missed out on trying the best stuff. Anyway, it's nice for hubby to have some company over a glass of whisky now. I think he enjoys the company because he can't count on me for that.
DSC_4556.JPG

Recently hubby learnt from a friend about keeping the whisky in the freezer. Apparently, it tastes a lot better. I've had to clear out a bit of my freezer to accommodate this as the bottle takes up quite a lot of space, and we have to make sure the bottle is propped up slightly to avoid any leakage. In theory this shouldn't happen, but better be safe than sorry. Nothing worse than having to defrost a whisky flavour freezer!!!
DSC_4552.JPG

The first time the guys tried the ice cold whisky they drank it straight from the freezer immediately. Big mistake!! It was way too cold and was tasteless. They had to let the poured whisky rest a while, so it wasn't icy cold but not back to room temperature yet. That didn't take long. Apparently, it worked and it tasted a lot better. According to hubby, iced whisky removes the sharpness from the whisky making it a lot smoother. I can't comment personally on all this as I haven't tasted it myself. I'm just repeating what the guys said and experienced.

If you're haven't heard of drinking iced whisky, well, you heard it on Hive. Let me know if/when you try it and what you think. I'll pass on your comments.
DSC_4553.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency