Hibiki Suntori Harmony

Where to start with this whiskey? This bottle was a random gift to me just because. What stands out to me about this gift was the story my wife shared with me. She was shopping at a local box store and saw a man wheeling out a pallet of this whiskey. She asked him if it was any good? She also explained to the man that I am into different whiskies. He did not tell her much but just reluctantly gave her a bottle and said that I should try it. He was going to buy their whole stock without sharing!
hibiki_harmony.jpg

Look: First what grabs my attention to this bottle is how nice the bottle looks, I love the detail on the lid, the shape of the bottle is not like other whiskies and makes this experience unique. There is no age statement but it’s on the lighter side. This is what I would expect a 12 (Irish) year look to be.

hibiki_harmony2.jpg

Legs thin and travel fast. There are a second set of legs that stem from the first they linger and coat the glass.

Nose on the front end I get a green apple (Chardonnay) on the back end I get sweet/ salty toffee. For the alcohol on the nose it’s very slight with a faint tingle on the nostrils.

Hand smell (few drops on your hands and rub hands together): Normally when I do this this is where get the wood from the whiskey, this instead of getting the wood I get more of the sweetness. It’s a honeysuckle.

Taste: I’m at a bit of a loss on this. It drinks as single malt but is blended. What stands out is the finish, it’s a faint peat finish, but you get the sweet and savory play that you would expect with a salted toffee. You get a lemon zest lightness.

Mouthfeel low to medium body. It sits on the center of the tongue and travels forward.

Burn very low burn it’s easy to drink.

Cost varies but is between 55 and 100

Over all reaction easy to drink and safe. Doesn’t really deliver on intensity, but makes it easy to drink straight up or on the rocks.

When I see people drinking this I picture someone who enjoys whiskey but is not a fan of whiskey burn.

If you have tried this Whiskey what were your thoughts? Do you have a memorable story that you would like to share?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency