Whiskey/Bourbon Review: Eagle Rare 10 Year

PXL_20210320_233614150.jpg


About three years ago when I was starting to get into crypto currency, I finally decided to see what this Reddit thing was all about. Up until then I had only heard that it was a place full of vile disgusting stuff. Back in 2017/2018 when the last bull run was just completing, that place was so full of crypto content (worthless memes, speculation, etc.). It seems now that the majority of that content is over on Telegram.

Since I already had an account on Reddit I decided to see what they might have for subreddits that dealt with Whiskey/Bourbon. There are actually quite a few of them. If you are looking for a place to learn about some new juice (beyond just here), you should check it out.

The r/bourbon group is kind of snobby, so I recommend just reading on there and not really posting too much. The r/Whiskey group is pretty welcoming and you can post about a variety of stuff there.

The point of all this is that consistently they are always talking about Eagle Rare in both groups.

PXL_20210320_233623590.jpg


I finally decided to reach out to my guy to see if he could round some up. Sure enough, about three weeks later he said he had six bottles. I told him I would take two of them.

At $40 (after tax) per bottle, this is actually a pretty reasonably priced bourbon. Especially for the quality you get. I think that is part of the reason that so many people sing its praises in the subreddits. The flavor and quality you get at the price point is actually pretty hard to beat. I expect people who have easier access to this use it as their "everyday" drinker. They might even use it as a mixer with the sub $40 tag.

I ended up giving the other bottle to my brother in law for doing our taxes this year. The fact that my guy was able to get six bottles at one time makes me think it might be easier to get than I realize. Even if you can't just grab it off the shelf at a store.

Remember I said that the guy I bought it from got six bottles? He had another guy come in who saw it and mentioned that he had only seen it for sale in Michigan at one other place. That place was about two hours north of us and they were selling it for $90 per bottle, so he bought the other four bottles on the spot.

It seems many people realize just how special this stuff is.

PXL_20210320_233740304.jpg


Eagle Rare is super smooth while still having that smoky burn that you would come to expect from a bourbon. It is actually the perfect balance of flavors with a bit of a peppery finish. It reminds me of Old Granddad Bottled in Bond but more like the next level above that. The Old Granddad is only about $28, so this is just a small step up in price with much more complexity and quality.

I don't want to say all whiskeys are starting to taste the same to me because that definitely isn't the case. I am getting to the point where I have my handful of favorites and I am not sure spending tons of money trying a bunch of new things is worth it.

For example. I just picked up a $70 bottle that I will review at a later date. It was good, but I would take two bottles of Eagle Rare for just about the same price every day.

If you are out and about and you happen to see a bottle of Eagle Rare sitting on the shelf, I definitely recommend you give it a shot. Heck, buy two bottles if they have it because you are probably going to enjoy it that much!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


@eos.detroit Staff Writer/BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

All pictures taken by myself or @mrsbozz

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency