Remember? CCC's Street Art Contest #139



clgf8r80y01m6akszbrsr9y75_2023-03-26_14-40-18.webp


Remember when we were kids, we were sure that we would be whoever we wanted to be?

And where we wanted to be. And how we wanted to be.

But along the way to that goal, there were growing numbers of things and responsibilities that couldn't be let go. Thousands of people who said our dreams were ridiculous, and a few like-minded people, turned out to be crazy in the eyes of millions. So were we ourselves. Only back then, it wasn't fear of being crazy. Sometimes it was pride. Sometimes it was genius.

At the very least, it was alive, and it made you live.

clgf8qwcr01ia92sz4x7cfm7a_2023-03-26_14-40-15-.webp


This is an entry for CCC's Street Art Contest #139 hosted by @digi-me. This is my first tryout, so please treat it with understanding and give me some advice if I do something wrong...


clgf8r8vs01gs6xsz184m6693_2023-03-26_14-40-44.webp

There's not a lot of street art in my city. The country, where post-Soviet minds have been pumped for decades, is not ready for rapid change. More precisely, our authorities are not ready even for slow change. So while I'm here again and summer is coming, I will try to take pictures of everything I find on these streets. And since I don't see any more Hivers from my city, these may be the only photos that will remain in this blockchain.

This is graffiti in a neighborhood in Gomel, Republic of Belarus.

An ordinary gray neighborhood with gray houses. Nothing remarkable if it were not for this work of MUTUS, an artist from Minsk. I don't know where he is now, but I found him on Instagram and looked at his other work. He seems to be quite talented. You can check out his official page for yourself at mutus_evgeny

When I look at this work, I see my life from this kid with a teddy bear, to a grown man with a lot of baggage behind his shoulders. Only my baggage is not in material possessions, for I have almost none. It's what's inside my head.

No one knows what will happen after this life, but everyone knows how to live. How to think, how to act, and how you will end up. But we are all different already from birth. We only become the same when we grow up. Not all of us are. But some are a little luckier or a little less fortunate. I hope that little grains of consciousness, allow me to get rid of unnecessary baggage and get back to what I liked to do as a child.

I'm on my way to it.

This drawing on the wall of a five-story house was done in 2015. I think it's pretty well-preserved. Considering a lot of my childhood artwork hasn't survived, it's almost a monument to street art. My dream is that when the regime changes, some of the talented people will come back here with bolder, more relevant work.

In the meantime, I'll enjoy what I have on hand and reflect on life as always in my posts.

And what was before life.

After all, it can be so much more interesting and important than many things.

Remember what the world was like when you were a child?

clgf8qxpg01i350sz8rd4ba74_2023-03-26_14-40-15.webp

I am also a member of the following communities!⬇️

All banners are clickable


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency