CCC's Street Art Contest 61 - Tribal Children in Street Art

Hello everyone. I'm back for #61 of this contest, CCC's Street Art Contest, hosted by @digi-me. If you haven't heard of this yet, the contest post can be found here. Do read up about this and hopefully you can join in on the fun.

In last week's CCC's Street Art Contest #60 I featured some street paintings depicting the elderly folks of the Manobos and Mandayas, both ancestral tribes of Mindanao, the second largest island in the Philippines, located at the southern part of the country. I chanced along the paintings as I passed by the Davao City National High School, the premier public secondary educational institution in the Davao Region. It is located along F. Torres Street, Davao City, Philippines. It is the biggest government-run secondary educational school in Davao City. As it was a big school I was certain there would be other paintings that can be found along the school's very long perimeter walls. So I went back again and to my delight, I found more murals and street art. And a whole lot of them! So I decided to share with you some of these but Not all. I will enter the rest in the future Rounds of the contest.

For this week #61, my feature this time will be on the children of our indigenous tribal folks who are also called Lumads. The Lumads are the non-Muslim indigenous people in Mindanao. The collective term is used to describe the about 13 ethnic groups of Mindanao, which include the Manobos and Mandayas, the groups I featured in last week's edition of this contest. These paintings were located at the front entrance of the school.

IMG_20211016_193658.jpg

IMG_20211015_233244.jpg

IMG_20211016_140656.jpg

These murals must have been painted by various local artists because my research did not result in any particular person or artist responsible for them.

IMG_20211016_140913.jpg

IMG_20211016_135952.jpg

The next 2 photos are a close up of the first picture of this post. In these photos you can see clearly the names of those who donated money and other assistance to the school engraved on the wall. This is a common practice in our country where politicians and those aspiring to be one donate to schools so their names can be etched or engraved on the wall for people to see. It gives them exposure and publicity.

IMG_20211016_152043.jpg

IMG_20211016_152117.jpg

And that's it for this post. Wishing the best to all the participants. Keep safe everyone and have a great weekend!

*(All photos are mine.)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency