Graffiti Lettering Contest #1: Plasticine graffiti

*****English Version*****

(Abajo está la versión en español)

1.png

I recently found out about my friend @trippymane's contest. I thought the idea was great so I decided to come up with something, even though I had a LONG time without even picking up a pencil and making a sketch or something.

In the contest post we were told to make one using the word "Start".

You can read more about the contest by following this link:
@trippymane/graffiti-lettering-contest-1-start

I thought I should practice a couple of letters first, you know, to get some of the rust off my hands and see if I could really do something worthwhile. So I started practicing a couple of letters with my name "Gabo".

2.png

I got nostalgic remembering when I was a teenager and went out with friends to make drawings and Graffiti on abandoned walls in the neighborhood. I used to do it before, but I stopped doing it as I got older...

Going back to the sketch, I was a little surprised by what I did because I didn't think I would be able to do anything:

3.png

Again I picked up my sheet of paper and started sketching more letter sketches, then continued and an idea came up with the word Start.

5.png

When I finished my sketch, I made a couple more and finally the one I liked, I printed it on another piece of paper.

6.png

I did the same sketch on a piece of cardboard and colored it with marker and pen. Also, I made a frame that I came up with and I think it looked good, I think.....

7.png

I have always said that the different types of arts are not exclusive of each other. For example, the sculptor can complement his art with painting and vice versa?

Graffiti is also another type of art and as a sculptor I decided to paint it again but with plasticine, to see what would come out. The first thing I did was to cover the background of my "canvas" with black.

8.png

Then I used gray plasticine to cover what was around the letters of my graffiti.

9.png

I finally covered the letters in the color I wanted to make them at first, but I didn't have pink marker so I used blue at first....

10.png

After I had all the colors, with the help of my molding tools I began to make the relief of the letters and all that, until I obtained the desired result:

11.png

The last thing I did was to give a rustic relief to the plasticine, also creating a brick texture on the black background, as if it were a real wall.

Here I ran into the problem of not having a black marker, so I used blue to outline the edges of the letters. The last thing I did was to apply a layer of glue to cover my graffiti to make it last longer. You know, plasticine is very soft so it gets damaged if you don't do this....

12.png

Well friends, what did you think? I had a lot of fun making this Graffiti and it made me remember my times as a graffiti artist, they were different times in my country hehe....

I hope you liked it. You can leave your opinions in the comments, I'll be happy to read them. With nothing more to add, I'll say goodbye then...

See you next time!



*****Versión en español*****

1.png

Hace poco me enteré del concurso de mi amigo @trippymane . Me pareció grandiosa la idea así que me decidí por pensar en algo, aunque tenía MUCHO tiempo sin siquiera tomar un lápiz y hacer algún boceto o algo.

En la publicación del concurso se nos dijo que debíamos hacer uno usando la palabra "Start".

Puedes leer más sobre el concurso siguiento este enlace:
@trippymane/graffiti-lettering-contest-1-start

Pensé que primero debía practicar un par de letras, ya saben, para quitar un poco el óxido de mis manos y ver si realmente podía hacer algo que valiese la pena. Fue así como comencé a practicar un par de letras con mi nombre "Gabo".

2.png

Me vino la nostalgia al recordar cuando estaba adolescente y salía con amigos a hacer dibujos y Graffitis en paredes abandonadas del barrio. Lo hacía antes, pero dejé de hacerlo al ir creciendo...

Volviendo al boceto, me sorprendió un poco lo que hice pues no pensé que lograría hacer algo:

3.png

Nuevamente tomé mi hoja de papel y comencé a hacer más bocetos de letras, luego continué y surgió una idea con la palabra Start.

5.png

Al terminar mi boceto, hice un par más y finalmente el que me gustó lo pasé en limpio en otro pedazo de papel.

6.png

Hice el mismo boceto en un pedazo de cartón y lo coloreé con marcador y lapicero. Además, hice un marco que se me ocurrió y creo que quedó bien, creo...

7.png

Siempre he dicho que los distintos tipos de artes no son excluyentes uno con el otro. Por ejemplo, el escultor puede complementar su arte con la pintura y viceversa...

El graffiti es también otro tipo de arte y yo como escultor decidí pintarlo otra vez pero con plastilina, a ver que salía. Lo primero que hice fue cubrir con negro el fondo de mi "lienzo".

8.png

Después usé plastilina gris para cubrir lo que había alrededor de las letras de mi graffiti.

9.png

Finalmente cubrí las letras del color que las quería hacer en un primer momento, pero no tenía marcador rosa así que usé azul en un primer momento...

10.png

Después de tener todos los colores, con ayuda de mis implementos de moldeado comencé a hacer el relieve de las letras y todo eso, hasta obtener el resultado deseado:

11.png

Lo último que hice fue dar un relieve rústico a la plastilina, creando además una textura de ladrillos en el fondo negro, como si fuese una pared de verdad.

Aquí me encontré con el problema de no tener marcador negro, así que usé el azul para delinear los bordes de las letras. Lo último que hice fue aplicar una capa de pegamento para cubrir mi graffiti para que perdure más en el tiempo. Ya saben, la plastilina es muy blanda así que se daña si no se le hace esto...

12.png

Bien amigos, ¿qué les pareció? Yo me entretuve mucho haciendo este Graffiti y me hizo recordar mucho mis tiempos de graffitero, eran tiempos distintos en mi país jeje...

Espero que les haya gustado. Pueden dejar sus opiniones en los comentarios, yo estaré encantado de leerlos. Sin más que agregar, me despido entonces...

¡Hasta la próxima!




Imagenes editadas con Photoshop
Traducido con DeepL
Photos edited with Photoshop
Translated with DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
Work and garden Weekend / Fin de semana de trabajo y jardinería
Sculpture: boat and pirate / Escultura: bote y pirata
Three musketeers abandoned / Tres mosqueteros abandonados

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency