CCC's Street Art Contest #129 - A historical tribute

Hello everyone!

Here again posting about a street mural that I have seen in this community StreetArt and I would like to join this week's contest, CCC's Street Art Contest #129 hosted by @digi-me, thanks for the initiative!

I'm here again to share again another mural seen in the city of Santander, in the north coast of Spain, yes, I have posted others, it seems there are many in that city. During my last trip I was able to discover several and I have already shared three of them here:

And still one more is coming soon! The last founded there.

So let's see this new one! Well this time, this is very different, because this is not a mural like the ones we usually see and share, colorful, avant-garde and artistic designs, but they always tend to have a modern air. But why not a classic image, as if the street had become a museum of the usual? And just by taking a little interest in the walls while walking, we can learn more about history.

Because this is a street mural but also a historical tribute, a memory of a naval feat that deserves to have its place not only in history books but also closer to the people, in their own city. In this case apparently also in the heraldic shields that unite two cities.

So on my trip to Santander, on the way back, already returning through the downtown area on Peña Herbosa street, I found this big mural: I was told that the broken chains appear as a liberation of the city of Seville, a city in the south of Spain with which it shares a destiny, since a naval army left here from the north, from Santander to reach the waters of the Guadalquivir river, thus liberating the city of Seville of the Muslim occupation. Another great feat of the Spanish reconquest.

Thus we see the great ship, the broken chains, the freedom of a city whose symbol is "la Torre del Oro" (The Gold Tower) that appears like this, and also appear, in the upper part, two figures, they told me they were the two holy martyrs of the city of Santander, San Emeterio and San Celedonio. I have not forgotten these names.

Nor should we forget the name of the creator who was commissioned in 2018 for this unusual work in the world of street art, the Spanish, Yosu Izarra Espiga @nohione on Instagram.

And to finish we see in the lower left part not only the artist's signature but also a poster where it is explained the battle and ends with a great sentence that sums up all:
"Tengo la fuerza del viento del norte y esa bravura que viene del mar". (I have the strength of the north wind and that bravery that comes from the sea.)

The most specific information comes from this site, an article in Spanish newspaper of that region.

Thanks for reading! Have an interesting and brave day.

bannerflow1.gif

The text is totally mine, by ©Duvinca
and all the photos are mine too!

I'M ALSO HERE:
Noise App / Read.cash / Publish0x / Odysee

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency