STREET ART #148 – Something new in Port Louis (Mauritius)

DSC_01.JPG

After I arrived Mauritius last month, I have been to the capital Port Louis several times. Since 2015 when the city got its first street art, there has been an amazing activity. I think there are close to 70 murals spread across the city. This time I haven't found much new even though I've been around most of the city. But I have found some nice ones that I would like to share with you all. Most of them have been painted in 2022, except the masks.

The first photo shows a painting on one of the walls at the Victoria St. bus terminal and shopping centre. The artist is Melisa who painted this in 2022. By the mural there is a signboard where she writes in French. She writes that for 27 years she has been wondering that whatever the shapes or the colors of the palette, art is something that unites us.



I am now at Caudan Waterfront, another shopping complex opposite Victoria St. The heart is new. The painting of the child might be some years old, but I didn't find it before in 2021.


This is also fount at Caudan Waterfront. The artist is Gael Froget, a Mauritian contemporary artist, born in 1986. He is self-taught and creative within in many different gengres in addition to street art. He in especially known for his anatomical hearts. I have allready done a post with one of his «hearts». I actually think this resembles a heart too.


Another one of Gail Froget's other hearts in Port Louis. I don't when it was painted, but I took the photo one year ago.


This beautiful painting is signed, but with several names. There are lots of details when you closely. It's also one of the new murals painted in 2022.


«Danita and Clemito» by Gael Froget. Looks aktual to me as tribal masks. I think they have been painted in 2015 or 2016. I have seen them before. The photos were taken in 2021.


There is a small alley in Chinatown called Venpin Street. It's completely covered with street art inspired by Japanese cartoon art. That's why it's called «manga» street by many locals. But this chinese inspired motif is new. But then, Venpin Street is located in the heart of Chinatown.

If you want to check more of Gael Froget's work:
https://www.instagram.com/gaelfroget/

You like street art? Join our street art contest ->
CCC's Street Art Contest #140 | 100% Liquid Payout and ecency points as Prize Pool & Winners of #139


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or reblogs are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #147 – Maipu street art found among the wineries (Argentina)


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Article, Photo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency