STREET ART #117 - Port Louis, Mauritius

DSC_01.JPG

I'm now back in Mauritius for a few weeks. The last time was in November last year and that was when I saw that Port Louis has received a lot of new street art during 2020 and 21. During the pandemic with closed borders over many months, it has led to a period where new works were made by local artists. So far I haven't seen anything new, since that visit. These paintings were done earlier on. It's just that I haven't noticed them before (except the red bird).


This heart shaped image is painted on the end of a wall high above the street, but is quite a large mural. The artist is Gael Froget, who is a self-taught artist, born in 1986 in Mauritius.




The photo of the red bird was taken in 2017. It's located close to the harbour and in an area with lots of street art. I found the other two in the city center of town last week. They are small. Around 35 -40 cm so they are easy to walk passed without even noticing them. So far I have seen these, without knowing if there are more. The signature is JJP on all of them. I don't know anything else about the artist.


Not far from the harbour I came across this painting when I was here in November last year. It's also situated close to the habour (and the red bird). Again, I haven't managed to find out about the artist.


This i quite a huge mural painted on the wall of the second floor of the building. It's easy to overlook if you don't look up fra street level. The name of the artist is Gian Barlo, a Hong Kong-based artist. I read somewhere that it was painted during the Porwli by Nature festival in 2017. I was here then, but did'nt notice it before now. It's located right behind the Central Market. To me it looks like a fruit bat behind what looks like a human,but with a fruit instead of a head. Fruit bats are common here on the island and especially in parks with fruit trees.

If you want to check more of Gael Froget's work: https://www.instagram.com/gaelfroget/

You like street art? Join our street art contest ->
CCC's Street Art Contest #87 | 100% Liquid Payout as Prize Pool & Winners of #86


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or reblogs are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #116 – BURNON (Aalborg, Denmark)


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!pinmapple -20.161294 lat 57.506905 long STREET ART #117 - Port Louis, Mauritius d3scr)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Article, Poetry

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency