Art from the Streets - Cape Town #2

I just realised that it is time for another episode of Art from the Streets, a series of posts I started during my time in Portugal. Below you will find the Portugal Episodes as well as the first Cape Town Episode in case you missed them. These posts are in addition to my weekly entries to the CCC's Street Art Contest by @digi-me.

StreetArt from Lagos

StreetArt from Lisbon

StreetArt from Cape Town

Today I show you the second part of StreetArt from the Suburb of Woodstock in Cape Town, South Africa. Cape Town is not only one of the coolest cities I´ve been to it´s also becoming a little StreetArt hub and especially suburbs like Woodstock and the neighbouring Salt River are a must visit if you like colourful walls.

The first two wall are very impressive, as impressive as the characters they show. It shows portraits of Nelson Mandela and Desmond Tutu both are very important persons in the history of South Africa and the murals done by Brian Rolfe show them big respect.

IMG_0359.jpg

IMG_0358.jpg


In suburbs like Woodstock you don´t need much luck to find good art you actually just need to walk slowly and keep your eyes open. Woodstock and Salt River are literally covered in StreetArt, small graffitis, big murals, colourful paintings as well as black&white. You will find any kind of art in those streets.

IMG_0228.JPG

IMG_0225.JPG

IMG_0226.JPG


I prefer huge murals that cover whole walls and buildings but I also started to appreciate the small art you mostly find in small corners in alleys or courtyards.

If you follow me since a while some of the artists should ring a bell as I´ve posted work from them before. Like the ones below. Lets see if anyone can name the artist of the first painting below.

IMG_0308.jpg
If you´re good you can name both of the artists

IMG_0309.JPG


Sometimes you need to take a step back to see the whole of a painting. Especially when it comes to this artist who likes to beautify entire facades with his unique style.

IMG_0306.JPG

IMG_0305.JPG


I´ve got the feeling that especially in South Africa many Paintings on the street have a deeper meaning as you could already see in some of my posts about the StreetArt in Cape Town. Others are just wild and abstract.

IMG_0275.JPG

IMG_0276.JPG

IMG_0273.JPG


The last one today is one I also really love just because of the huge size and the very realistic 3D effect. It covers the whole house and is very well painted. I can´t remember the name of the artist and are not able to figure out the tag in the top. Maybe someone else will find out what it says.

IMG_0257.jpg

IMG_0258.jpg


I hope you liked the tour as there will still be much more art from cape town that I will show you in the future.

Kopie von HIVE Photography.png


you will find this post on pinmapple as well
[//]:# (!pinmapple -33.927954 lat 18.448569 long Art from the Streets - Cape Town #2 d3scr)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency