An entirely new industry has been created for upmarket Covid PPE

I think I stand in solidarity with a vast majority of people when I say that I've had about enough of this virus. I still do not know anyone that knows anyone that even knows anyone that has died from it. I do know that there is a corporate policy out there that exists in many industries where they say to not let a good crisis go to waste and there are multiple companies out there that are cashing in on travel mandates with luxury version of the stuff you get for free.


src
Yves Saint Laurent actually had a fashion show for masks

Now the sort of designer stuff that these people make will be hundreds if not thousands of dollars but that is not what I am referring to. It does disgust me that this sort of thing has become so acceptable that designers are actually having fashion show promoting the mask nonsense but I am talking about what would likely be considered a "Target level" of mask sales.


image.png
src
I don't believe that masks have much effect at all anyway but surely this sheer fabric does nothing to stop any spread of anything

When I started looking at what the world considers travel essentials and saw masks and travel face-shields pop up on the list it kind of made my heart sink a bit. I can't believe that this is what the world has come to.


Untitled.png
src

Along with neck pillows, power banks, and blackout eye shades we now have this stuff considered essential as well and it saddens me to see that. I hate that companies are taking advantage of this as well. These designer masks don't have any sort of protection in mind, they are turning a pandemic into fashion and I find it disgusting.

I will wear the masks on flights where it is required even though I think most people are aware of the fact that these masks can only work if you have the correct type of mask and are wearing it correctly. Even then there is a lot of talk about how it won't prevent the spread of Covid but I don't want to get arrested over something so trivial.

If you are the type of person that would purchase the above for the combined near $100 instead of the mask that costs a few cents and normally is given out for free, I'm afraid I would categorize you as an idiot! If you buy a fashion mask from one of these companies like Yves Saint Laurent you are an idiot with rich parents.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency