Jungle Chrysalis - A Month of Daily Haiku (Day 16)

CaveJungle.jpg
Picture taken in 2010, on a jungle trek in Koh Sok national park, Thailand.


The jungle exhales
carnal shades from leafy maw -
the cave a gateway.


Copyrightbanner.png

These jungle treks in Koh Sok national park in Thailand are an experience I will never forget. I won't lie, being of northern stock with Irish ancestry the heat was a challenge. I spent half of the trek leaping in jungle pools fully clothed... anything to stay cool 😂

JunglePool.jpgStruggeling through the mud I decided to just fall back and embrace the cooling waters, Koh Sok national park, Thailand.

At the heart of my memories of this stay in the jungle lies an underlying thirst for adventure. I'm pretty certain that the Thai rangers leading the trek viewed the whole thing as just another day's work, but this is all part of what makes travel so rewarding. Sharing their knowledge of the plants and animals in the jungle, particularly the millions of critters that could kill me, opened my mind to what lies at the beating heart of the jungle's ecosystems. They don't call it the law of the jungle for nothing!

There is so much life thrumming in the air of a tropical rainforest like Koh Sok, you can almost taste the chlorophyll in the air and smell the trees growing.

JungleMonkey.jpgPictures taken one morning when I took a canoe and stalked wild monkey in Koh Sok national park, Thailand.

The title image, and haiku inspired by it, are a metaphor for what lends travel its mystical feel. During the trek we passed through a cave system that started near to the top of a hill and emerged at the base of the valley. Delving into the darkness felt like passing into another world, cool and silent after the cacophony of the forest, our only companions roosting bats and giant cave spiders.

JungleHuts.jpgPicture of one of my travelling companions who joined me stalking wild monkeys, and our jungle accommodation 🌿

This passing from one world to another describes what many feel through adventure travel on a metaphysical level. In many ways it is a passing from one state to another, a journey that indelibly transforms you, like the jungle caterpillar entering the chrysalis to emerge finally with golden wings.

“Travelling - it leaves you speechless then turns you into a storyteller.”

― Ibn Battuta


I have decided to challenge myself for a month to post a daily Haiku on Hive. Each week will have a different theme based on a picture prompt.

This week's broad theme is The Wonder of Travel.

To read more about the aesthetics of true haiku, and the difference between haiku and senryu, please check out my post: Haiku Vs Senryu - The Aesthetics of Form

All images in this post are my own property. If you have enjoyed this Haiku, please check out my homepage @raj808 for similar content. Thank you.

Footer_raj808.png

Click banner to visit the community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency