Open air museum Zuberec

Sometimes it's good to look back a few years and see how our ancestors lived. One then begins to appreciate more what one has now. He gets an idea of ​​how they had to take care of their farm every day to have something to eat. What tools did they use and in what system did they live? Open-air museums are a very good place to get to know the life of our ancestors in this way.

Today I decided to visit the Zuberec open-air museum, which is located in Slovakia in the Orava region.

2020 is a year of tourism for me. I went on several tours and crossed almost the entire Western Tatras. It was no different now, but I planned a shorter hike for today. After six hours of pedaling, I went down the hill and went to see the nearby open-air museum.

There are wooden houses in an inconspicuous valley. There is a whole village. There is a church, a tavern, a town hall and a school. And I'm going to look at it first, because it's closest to the entrance gate.

School
School

I enter the yard through the fence. On the right is the economic part and on the left is an elongated wooden house. I'm entering the bottom. From the small corridor you can enter three rooms. The first is school. There are school supplies, desks, blackboards, in short, everything that belongs to the school. There is a kitchen in the small room in the middle. In the third room is the room where the teacher used to be. That surprised me. Living in your robot? So I can't imagine being at work 24 hours a day.

School
School
School
School

There is a restaurant further down the street. It wouldn't be weird if it wasn't in the water mill.

There are many different houses in the open-air museum. Some of them represent crafts. I was very interested in the blacksmith's workshop, full of all kinds of tools.

In other houses, we look at people's privacy. Furnished rooms will say a lot about them and their lives.

The dominant feature of the open-air museum is the church, which stands proudly on the hill above the village. It is a wooden church with a beautiful decoration in the interior.

Church
Church
Church
Church
Church
Church

Slovakia is a country rich in folk art and history. Today, my imagination was working at full speed and I returned from the trip again to experience richer and knowledge.

well thank you

Place: Zuberec, Slovakia

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency