Chang Mia Old City, Thailand

The Old part of Chiang Mia was probably my favourite part of our little adventure which was part of our Asian loop holiday back in November 2023. Sort of playing catch up after missing a lot of travel during covid, visiting some family and trying to pick up some international parkruns in south east Asia. We started by getting the cheapest we could out of Brisbane in Australia to Singapore for a long weekend and a parkrun then it was a low cost budget airline called scoot direct to Chang Mia Thailand. This was my favourite part because I do like a bit of history and this walled part of the city was the Capital of the Independent Lanna Kingdom until 1558
The Old part of Chiang Mia was probably my favourite part of our little adventure which was part of our Asian loop holiday back in November 2023. Sort of playing catch up after missing a lot of travel during covid, visiting some family and trying to pick up some international parkruns in south east Asia. We started by getting the cheapest we could out of Brisbane in Australia to Singapore for a long weekend and a parkrun then it was a low cost budget airline called scoot direct to Chang Mia Thailand. This was my favourite part because I do like a bit of history and this walled part of the city was the Capital of the Independent Lanna Kingdom until 1558

I loved running around what was left of the old walls which made a 7km run feel like a history lesson.
I loved running around what was left of the old walls which made a 7km run feel like a history lesson.

There was still a bit of traffic to dodge on my daily morning run.
There was still a bit of traffic to dodge on my daily morning run.

We walked lots of the ruins as well.
We walked lots of the ruins as well.

These three Kings founded the City back in 1296
These three Kings founded the City back in 1296

I love how the old stuff is still standing between the new buildings.
I love how the old stuff is still standing between the new buildings.

There is a moat around most of the walls too.
There is a moat around most of the walls too.

Lots of temples to visit if that your thing.
Lots of temples to visit if that your thing.

This was our favourite restaurant.
This was our favourite restaurant.

The bamboo scaffold just amazes me. no planks just bare feet of the round bamboo pole must take a bit of getting used to. I wonder if they have to get it inspected and approved before use.
The bamboo scaffold just amazes me. no planks just bare feet of the round bamboo pole must take a bit of getting used to. I wonder if they have to get it inspected and approved before use.

Thanks for visiting Chiang Mia old city.
Thanks for visiting Chiang Mia old city.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now