Mosaic art in the park to find a sense of unity in diversity

Welcome to another edition of the Shape of the Cape where today I take a pictorial walk in the park. Here in the colorful shots you can see the mural art in the park at one of the pleasant little towns along the Garden Route region of the south Cape coast of Africa.
20200719_131305.jpg
It looks like an octopuses garden in the shade. The Beatles would be impressed. The colorful mosaic art pieces are seashore themed since we are a stones-throw form the beach. I’m not sure who the artists are, but I can see that it makes for a functional playground for the kids of the area.

20200719_131244.jpg
Colorful parks like this are such a treat to the eyes, especially since we are not allowed to actually go to the real beach any more. Beaches are banned here in South Africa, under the excuse of covid pandemic. So here is a scene from the park instead. I still go to the beach since I have a rare private access to a remote beach that few can access, but more of that in other posts.

20200719_131317(0).jpg

Here I am happy to present some colorful sites to uplift the mood and inspire the creative spirit. Mosaic is a beautiful art form as one needs patience to make them and not much can be seen of value until the entire art piece is complete.

20200719_131336.jpg
Like society as a whole, a mosaic is made up of numerous small different items, and together we make up a complete picture of society as a whole. Sometimes those with similar appearances group together, but not always and it is from a distance that one sees the patterns and cohesion overall. We are all parts and parcels of the whole even on a soul level apparently. It helps to look at the overall bigger picture to really see one’s small role in the bigger scene. Alone we may be insignificant. Yet simultaneously we are all crucial to form the bigger picture.

20200719_131605.jpg
Mosaic art reminds me of stained glass windows in cathedrals and really adds a sense of the rainbow nation in today’s current works. I hope you enjoy having a look at the mosaic outdoor art in the park, it certainly brought a colorful dose of bright light and vibrancy to me. Learning to appreciate the simple things in life like this type of art, has allowed me to maintain my joy in life, despite the unusual circumstances we find our selves in globally.

20200719_131715.jpg

In the last tow images here, you can see just how far we are from the rest of the world geographically. We’re only 10 000km from Sydney, Australia. Even the South Pole is closer, at only 6000km. This is quite remote from the rest of the world, on the south Cape coast of Africa. I hope you get a chance to visit on your travels one day. I recommend a little exploration of the wild and rugged beauty of the African coastline here. Look me up when you’re in town and I will show you around.

20200719_132919.jpg
You can see in the last photo how my home town of Cape Town, from my youth, is only 466km away. I simply moved along the coast to a more secluded and rural part of the country, in order to find peace and space, as well as good health from the beautiful natural environment here in the Garden Route.

20200719_132926.jpg

(images my own)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency