City Tour in The Land of Promise [Davao City, Philippines] | Travel Blog 8-A

Year 2017 was the time when I started travelling. That year, I never knew I would go to places that I don't really plan on going. Yes, I booked a promo ticket but since it was just cheap, I just go with the flow and booked even if I'm unsure during that time if I'm gonna make it to that trip.

So here I am, posting another throwback travel last 2017. This time, I went to Mindanao Island, the second largest island of the Philippines.

2017-09-04 10.58.10.jpg

My first day was just a half day trip exploring the City of Davao.

Upon arrival at Francisco Bangoy International Airport, you'll see this giant structure of Durian Fruit (famous fruit found in Davao).

2017-09-04 08.57.22.jpg

As I was trying to have a tight budget, I opted to commute going to the city and look for an accommodation.
I already looked up in Google how to save money going to the City and what area should I go to look for an accommodation so it was just a smooth travel going to my accommodation.

Look at my room!

2017-09-04 12.01.37.jpg

I only booked for a bunk bend as I planned to stay there just until midnight as I had my itinerary going to other province in Mindanao (Surigao del Sur, on my third blog for this set).

After taking a quick nap, I went out to have lunch in a karinderia (small place to eat on budget) and started exploring the city.

My first stop was a Buddhist Temple, the Long Hua.

2017-09-04 13.59.28.jpg

I don't know if it's a tourist spot in Davao but I saw it online and since it was close to my accommodation, I went out and check the temple


Next stop was the San Pedro Cathedral Church.

2017-09-04 14.56.21.jpg

2017-09-04 14.52.26.jpg

There was a mass during my visit so I went to stay for a couple of minutes to pray and lit some candles.

2017-09-04 14.49.15.jpg

2017-09-04 15.01.02.jpg

Across the church, you'll find a museum called Museyo Dabawenyo (Tagalog term for Davao Museum)

2017-09-04 15.13.52.jpg

Did you know that the current Philippine President lives in Davao City? This is why he has a painting at the entrance of the second floor of the museum.

I also learned in that museum that the city name, Davao was previously called Duhwow.

2017-09-04 15.16.01.jpg

Moving on to my next stop... D Bone Collector Museum! However...

2017-09-04 15.32.05.jpg

I was a bit disappointed during that time as I was looking forward to see this as this was suggested by some of my friends but sadly it was closed during my visit.

At this time, I had nowhere to go so I just went to walk back going to the Cathedral. As I was walking, I saw a green mango vendor and bought one to cheer up myself while I was looking for a place to go to.

2017-09-04 15.28.39.jpg

Luckily, I have a friend online whom I haven't who lives in Davao and suggested a quite chill place to spend the rest of my day as I shared my day to her. She suggested for me to go to Times Beach.

2017-09-04 16.55.14.jpg

The beach can be compare to Manila Bay as there are stones placed in the shore and it wasn't a typical beach with the sand. The beach was a 10-minute walking distance from SM Davao. It was really a chill place as the locals go here as well to just spend time with friends, family or loved ones.

The sun already set and so I started walking back to SM Davao to buy some groceries as I needed to prepare some snacks and food for my trip to my next destination.

2017-09-04 17.50.45.jpg

After doing grocery, I went back to my accommodation to leave it there and went out again to go to the Night Market!

2017-09-04 18.43.14.jpg

Basically, the night market in Davao is more on food stalls where you dine in to eat for grilled dishes with rice. There's a section for some clothing as well.

One thing I bought there was this Buchi (chinese sweet rice cake) filled with chocolate and it was the best! It only costs around P10 if I was not mistaken.

2017-09-04 20.33.19.jpg

After exploring the market, I went back to my accommodation to say my goodbye to the city as I was bound to leave for my next destination that midnight.

At around 11 PM, I checked out and did commute to the bus station and waited for my bus which will take me 7-8 hours to get to my destination...

Here's a photo of me bound to travel for 7-8 hours... good night!

2017-09-04 23.41.51.jpg


Thank you for reading. Day 2 of my 1st Mindanao Travel will be posted next!


Previous Travel Blog Posts:

  • Going up North! [Sagada] | Travel Blog 1-A
  • Lost Into The Woods [Sagada] | Travel Blog 1-B
  • Must Visit Places in Sagada | Travel Blog 1-C
  • Banaue Side Trips to Sagada | Travel Blog 1-D
  • Singapore Travel Day 1! | Travel Blog 2-A
  • Cloud Forest and Flower Dome @ Gardens by the Bay [Singapore] | Travel Blog 2-B
  • Singapore Travel Day 2! | Travel Blog 2-C
  • Songkran Festival 2017 [Day 1 in Bangkok] | Travel Blog 3-A
  • Thai Foods and Chao Phraya River Tour [Bangkok, Thailand] | Travel Blog 3-B
  • Damnoen Saduak Floating Market and Dinner Cruise [Bangkok, Thailand] | Travel Blog 3-C
  • Trip to Beitou Park & Elephant Mountain [Day 1 in Taipei] | Travel Blog 4-A
  • Dahu Park, Pingxi and Shifen Old Street [Day 2 in Taipei 2017] | Travel Blog 4-B
  • Yehliu GeoPark and Chiang Kai-shek Memorial Hall [Day 3 in Taipei 2017] | Travel Blog 4-C
  • We Are Back Home! [Day 4 in Taiwan 2017] | Travel Blog 4-D
  • Tips for Accomodation and Transportation in Taiwan | Travel Blog 4-E
  • Roadtrip to Quezon, Philippines | Travel Blog 5
  • Chasing Waterfalls @ Laguna, Philippines | Travel Blog 6
  • Roadtrip to Ternate, Cavite, Philipines | Travel Blog 7

  • View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

    H2
    H3
    H4
    3 columns
    2 columns
    1 column
    8 Comments
    Ecency