Albanian Blase nr.2 - Splendid Suburbs. #hustlerblogs


Since my childhood I was always fascinated by the geniality of electric cables in shanty towns and poor countries. Mostly travel documentaries from places like Nepal or Morocco shaped my idea of places I would once like to visit.

How would have quest that I will find exactly that even in my native Europe.

Balkans is sure one of the most undeveloped areas in Europe, devastated by wars in 90's the countries struggle to this very day to restore what was once lost. In Albania the contrasts between past, present and future is sure visible. And thanks for that really. It is the history that makes places what they are today.

So as I have mentioned in the previous post, hostel I was staying at was located perfectly between the new and the old, center and suburbs and today we will have a look at the second.

After passing one pretty busy market I have started to feel comfortable enough to take pictures. As cool as it might be, I am not a big fan of pictures if hardworking people taken by annoying photographer, so I am searching beauty and perfection otherwise.

My favourite electric cables usually dominate most of my compositions.

It makes one think about the electricians and difficulties they must encounter on the daily basis. Or if they by any chance keep a record book of all those cables... Anyway, I was on my way to the biggest damm in Tirana. Hoping to find nice place to chill and enjoy one "reparatur" beer as Germans like to call it when you had one or two shots too much the day before...

The way started to climb up and I have started to see further behind the residential buildings. What a cool winter day. Snow capped mountains on the horizon and yet total bluebird...

Usually I don't think about how far is a place to which I am heading to and that leaves me with quite a walk. But as a side effect I make plenty of photos by getting there.

A little sport helps to get rid of the hangover too so it is a win-win situation.

And it seemed like I wasn't the only one partying the night before.

After this point I was already on the highest point of my day trip and the views become more than satisfying...

Finally reaching the damm was really cool moment. As with all the big water bodies, one gets the sense of calmness and peace.

It took me a while to find an entry to the man made lake as I have came totally from a wrong direction. It also ended up being pretty windy out there and made it harder to find a suitable place to enjoy my beer.

But as the saying goes, "If Mohamed cannot go to the mountain, mountain will come to him." I have found a bench on the sunny side pretty easily...

And on this note I am signing out and sending you some good vibes while enjoying some Albanian red wine...

Until next time,

Tom Hustler

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency