A Spontaneous Trip in December 🚤 Visiting an Ancestral Place in Laarwijk Suriname

I've mentioned before how busy our December calendar was and between all the bustle and noise, there was one Saturday that was a rather welcoming relaxed outing. That was visiting my ancestral home on a plantation in the District Commewijne.


IMG_20211218_100013.jpg

My ancestral home. The had just cleaned the ditches.


In a few other posts I've mentioned that as far as I can remember, my family from my mother's side is from a plantation named Laarwijk and I've spend many Holidays, weekends and vacations at my great grandmothers house. Then, her son - my great uncle - was already in charge of the maintenance of the plot of land.

IMG_20211218_094628.jpg

Laarwijks dock coming in sight.


This particular Saturday was planned in no time, because it has been years since we've visited Laarwijk last. To some, Laarwijk may seem uninteresting, because there is not much to do, especially if you like the access and luxury city life has. But for us it's nostalgic and also a place to get back to basics.

IMG_20211218_101134.jpg

Rural outside kitchen.


I realize how blessed I am and that as humans we actually don't need much to be happy. And with some creativity, one can enjoy him-/herself, like going swimming in the river or swamps, riding a moped or bicycle, going fishing or to the field to harvest. What I do nowadays though, is recharging in a hammock 😅.

IMG_20211218_100854.jpg


My great uncle always sends the men to reap some fruits and whatever the land is providing though. This Saturday was no different and my great uncle had already gathered some leafy vegetables, but for the taro and cassava he needed some younger muscles. Luckily, another uncle and one of his sons were also visiting.

IMG_20211218_160515.jpg


We stayed until late afternoon, took a boat back and shared some of the harvest with other family members. The cassava from yesterday's post was from Laarwijk by the way 😁. So that was me recharging at my ancestral place. How about you, any place reminding you of where you're from? Let me know in the comments below 🤓.

IMG_20211218_182351.jpg

Sharing taro and cassava from Laarwijk.


Chasse into the backstage! 💃


ReggaeJAHM.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency