RE: A Spontaneous Trip in December 🚤 Visiting an Ancestral Place in Laarwijk Suriname

Oh wow I had no idea of the commonality between Suriname and South Africa... yes I do understand a fair bit of Afrikaans and can hold a basic conversation. I studied it at school but haven't used it conversationally properly for years lol. I was on a coach trip once and there were 4 of us South Africans and the rest were Dutch Students from Holland... they were speaking Dutch obviously but we could understand their jokes and I burst out laughing at one...which broke some ice between us and we then enjoyed a good chat...they could understand the Afrikaans enough and we could understand the Dutch enough lol and then some English in between...It is funny when I overhear some Afrikaans people in the shops in England and they don't think anyone else can understand them😱😹 (not all but I have heard some funny things hehe). As for Helvellyn... we hiked up in October 2012...so a long time ago... Autumn... it was lovely but the fog is very dangerous there and there are steep drop off one the one side so you need to go on a clear day and believe me if the fog rolls in...head home...don't keep going like we did...it was dangerous!!! we were on the edge without realising it. I don't know but maybe summer would be better. Glad you had a lovely break... it looked lovely and chilled. And the hammock....mmm nice❣️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency