Look who's here!

Gymnocalycium lidl 5.jpg

It happens (quite often actually) that my local supermarket has some nice plants, especially cacti. But those usually come on those tiny little pots with one single cactus most of the time.

So now imagine my face (or maybe better not), when I saw those large pots with multiple spiky heads! I was like a kid in a candy shop :D. So many pots... so many types...

I picked one. Because it is Gymnocalycium and there is never enough of those. The tag had no name as always. I suspect G. mihanovichii. Someone correct me if I am wrong please.

And among all the green ones, there is one more red. Could be just stressed, or if I am lucky, it will have different flower. We will see.

Gymnocalycium lidl 2.jpg

Gymnocalycium lidl 4.jpg

Now I will have so much fun repoting it! There is a total of 7 plants in there. Some of the smaller ones are half dug up into the shitty soil they pot them in. Who knows what else is inside.
I am planning to keep the top, larger ones together as they are. It will look amazing when they start to bloom. And the are blooming size as I found some dried up buds that did not manage to develop.
The smaller ones I will pot up separately.

And then I will wait for flowers.

Gymnocalycium lidl 1.jpg

Gymnocalycium lidl 3.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

cactus banner.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency