"A la folie" and a portrait direction (eng/port)

I took these photos five years ago and had never posted them until now. They are part of a shoot that I named A La Folie, but ended up not being selected by me at the time, because I thought other photos were much better and that they deserved to be published instead.
Fiz estas fotos tem cinco anos e nunca tinha divulgado até agora. Elas fazem parte de um ensaio que batizei como A La Folie, mas acabaram não sendo selecionadas na época. Para mim, o ensaio tinha fotos bem melhores e que mereciam ser divulgadas no lugar dessas.
But today, looking at them, something caught my attention. I started looking at these images with more affection and trying to know a little more about my self-criticism process with my own work. Initially they were not in black and white, but I did this edition in Ps because I think the blue of the pool used the scenery for the images bothered me a little.
Mas hoje, olhando para elas, alguma coisa me chamou a atenção. Passei a olhar para essas imagens com mais carinho e até tentar conhecer um pouco mais do meu processo de auto crítica com meu próprio trabalho. Inicialmente elas não estavam em preto e branco, mas fiz essa edição no Ps porque acho que o azul da piscina usada como cenário para as imagens me incomodava um pouco.

IMG_8511.JPG

IMG_8488.JPG

I think the result was more interesting that way and that black and white communicates better with the dramatic expressions of the model Elisa Campos.
Acho que o resultado ficou mais interessante assim e que o preto e branco se comunica melhor com a dramaticidade das expressões da modelo Elisa Campos.
I love directing portraits and rarely take pictures of people smiling, with the exception of commissioned work, of course. I like that mysterious, sad and sometimes even a little crazy air that I register only by directing the facial expressions of the people to whom I point the lens.
Eu amo dirigir retratos e raramente tiro fotos das pessoas sorrindo, com exceção de trabalhos comissionados, é claro. Gosto desse ar misterioso, triste e, por vezes, um pouco louco que consigo registrar, somente dirigindo as expressões faciais das pessoas para quem aponto as lentes.

IMG_8498.JPG

How do you like to direct your portraits?

:)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency