This Morning's Sunrise, Finally Some New Photos!

I haven't been sharing many landscape photos lately, because I haven't been shooting many... The wildfire smoke has been bad up here but the winds have shifted, the fire is about 53% contained (not great but better than it was), there were finally some clouds in the sky, and the MySunset app was forecasting a fairly good sunrise. That works for me!

This is Donner Lake in Truckee, California. The trailhead for this hike is about a 10 minute drive from my house and the hike is only about 15-20 minutes. I did have a little bit of a scare on the hike in the dark out to this spot. I noticed couple pair of glowing eyes reflecting the light from my headlamp. It startled me but I was able to focus the light beam from my headlamp on the eyes, they were just deer... I ended up passing about 20 deer total on that section of the hike. Kind of cool but no photos, I had a mission:

_Q1A2043.jpg

The pink colors above lasted only a short amount of time. I decided to stick around a bit longer and get a panorama shot of the sun actually rising over the horizon.

Donner sunrise_Panorama-1.jpg

Both these images were shot on a Canon 5DS R with a 16-35mm lens. Two graduated neutral density filters were used on the front of the lens in order to balance out the sky exposure with the foreground exposure. These are very high resolution images and can be printed huge!

20210909_061035.jpg

Thank you for looking. I hope you are all having a great day!

Scott Thompson
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency